Mixtape #79 by PVT


Australian trio PVT, formerly known as Pivot, had us right from the release of their debut album nearly a decade ago. Going even stronger today, brothers Richard and Laurence Pike and Dave Miller have a much anticipated fifth album, New Spirit, out next month. So we're ecstatic to start off 2017 with a mixtape put together by Richard Pike:

"I'm not sure how these have directly influenced New Spirit, but it's a selection of tracks that I found myself coming back to during songwriting. So I guess that means something. I avoided vocals in this mix because at the time I was only focused on finding the right sound palette, and letting my own lyrical ideas evolve over that palette. I otherwise have nothing against vocalists. This mix is very electronic. With a focus on futurism."

  1. Roedelius – Signal [Sky Records]
  2. Vangelis Katsoulis – The Slipping Beauty [Into The Light Records]
  3. The Knife – Silent Shout [Rabid Records / Mute]
  4. Nathan Fake – Basic Mountain [Border Community]
  5. Oneohtrix Point Never – Problem Areas [Warp]
  6. Alex Cameron – Mongrel [Crawfish Records / Secretly Canadian]
  7. Giant Claw – Deep Thoughts 004 [Orange Milk Records]
  8. FKA Twigs – Two Weeks [Young Turks]
  9. Luke Abbott – Soft Attacks [Border Community]
  10. Napolian – Ascension [Software (2)]
  11. Anna Meredith – Nautilus [Moshi Moshi]
  12. Music For Your Plants – First Contact [Zoology Records]
  13. Art Of Noise – Moments In Love [Island Records / ZTT]
  14. Holly Herndon – Chorus [RVNG Intl. / 4AD]
  15. Shed – Keep Time [Ostgut Ton]
  16. Pivot – Absent Friend Afternoon Light [PVT]

One thought on “Mixtape #79

  1. Pingback: Border Community

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published.

No HTML but links are fine.