Debut album from YoshimiO / Susie Ibarra / Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe out now

Last Friday saw the release of Flower Of Sulphur, the debut album from three extraordinary musicians, multi-instrumentalist YoshimiO (Boredoms, OOIOO, SAICOBAB), avant-garde percussionist and composer Susie Ibarra, and multidisciplinary artist Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe (Lichens). Their heavenly collaboration took place in December 2016, when the trio performed together in New York and Flower Of Sulphur is a live recording of that improvised performance. Ibarra had this to say about it:


“We had all performed in different configurations before but never together as a trio. I think actually I have met each YoshimiO and Robert at different times when collaborating on larger works with Tarek Atoui. But we had not performed together as trio. I was very happy with the prospect to play a trio concert, as I could imagine the sonic palette could be very interesting, being that we each come from different aesthetic backgrounds but enjoy crossing into various sonic territories.”

The trio have hinted at more live performances this year so fingers crossed for European dates to be added. Now listen to the album’s incredible opening track ‘Aaa’.

Flower Of Sulphur is out now on Thrill Jockey.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published.

No HTML but links are fine.