The Notwist set to release new album Vertigo Days, share new single ‘Where You Find Me’

Photo: Johannes Maria Haslinger

The Notwist haven’t released an album since 2014’s Close To The Glass but this summer they’ve whet appetites with new music, first with a new EP called Ship, and more recently with a brand new song, ‘Oh Sweet Fire’, featuring guest vocals by Ben LaMar Gay, who also coined its lyrics. Now the iconic German indie band have announced a proper full-length album, Vertigo Days, set for release on January 29th through Morr Music. The core trio of Markus and Micha Acher and Cico Beck take a new step forward on the upcoming Vertigo Days, as the press release describes, “through its combination of melancholy pop, clangorous electronics, hypnotic Krautrock and driftwork ballads, to its international musical guests”.
Other than American multi-instrumentalist Ben LaMar Gay, The Notwist have also invited an impressive list of artists to contribute to the album, including Saya of Japanese pop duo Tenniscoats, American jazz clarinettist and composer Angel Bat Dawid, Argentinian electronica songwriter Juana Molina and Tokyo based brass band Zayaendo. “We wanted to question the concept of a band by adding other voices and ideas, other languages,” explained Markus, “and also question or blur the idea of national identity.”

Ahead of the album release, The Notwist have let loose another single, ‘Where You Find Me’. Take a listen below.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published.

No HTML but links are fine.