New Weather’s self-titled debut album out today

New Weather - New Weather

Seattle based outfit New Weather, consisting of Sean Curley, Amber Rossino and Tomory Dodge, are releasing their self-titled debut album today via Butterscotch Records. The effort was mixed by Allen Farmelo (The Cinematic Orchestra, Talk Normal) and mastered by Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev, MGMT).

Drawing influences from an array of genres and creative sonic and visual experiences, the trio blends elements from electronic, krautrock, experimental, ambient, psychedelic and pop. As the press release describes, “we hear the celestial scrapings of Stockhausen, the minimalism of Kraftwerk or Stereolab, the grooves of Air and the ambient drift of Boards of Canada, even the insistent psychedelia of early Pink Floyd”. Dodge explains further:

“Collectively we own a vast library of early electronic pioneering recordings. I had become very interested with the seventies recordings of Philippe Besombes. We were looking back to a brief moment in history when no one really knew what electronic music was, but they were trying to figure it out, using temperamental equipment in experimental ways and making new music.”

Coinciding with the album release, New Weather have aired one of the album’s outstanding and hypnotic tracks, ‘Heat Death’. It comes with an accompanying video, produced by Malaki Stahl. Check it out below.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published.

No HTML but links are fine.