Deerhoof announce new album La Isla Bonita

Deerhoof - La Isla Bonita

Deerhoof have just announced the release of their twelfth album and the follow-up to their 2012’s Breakup Song. The new effort is entitled La Isla Bonita and it arrives on November 4th via Polyvinyl and Upset the Rhythm.
Deerhoof recorded the album live in guitarist Ed Rodriguez’s basement, “a weeklong sleepover arguing over whether to try and sound like Joan Jett or Janet Jackson, cracking each other up, one guitarist whose name starts with J always putting too much red chile into the rations,” as the band’s drummer Greg Saunier put it.
According to the press release, La Isla Bonita sees Deerhoof pay tribute to some of their “heroes-turned-fans”, like David Bowie, Ric Ocasek, The Roots, Lou Reed, David Byrne, Sonic Youth, The Flaming Lips, Radiohead and Beck. The album is also described as a discourse with some of very current fierce female-fronted bands, including St. Vincent, Tune-Yards, Perfect Pussy, Karen O and Speedy Ortiz.

Here’s what Saunier said speaking about the upcoming album:

“No band is an island. Felt like one sometimes, in those budgetless and obscure early days, Satomi and me locked in the basement trying to figure out how our clashing personalities and ideas could turn into a band. If we hadn’t had that crazed mid-90s Bay Area punk scene to call home, I doubt we’d still be here to chat about a 20th anniversary.”

Lucky for us, Deerhoof have shared La Isla Bonita‘s first single, the punky and catchy ‘Exit Only’. Here it is.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published.

No HTML but links are fine.