Mixtape #88

October is here and with it comes a very special selection of tracks picked by Emily Hall, the marvellous and infinitely creative British composer. She won us over with her 2015 concept album/opera Folie à Deux, which was one of our Album Picks of the Year. So we asked her to put together a mixtape with some of the artists and bands that have inspired her and the stunning mix she sent us journeys through a myriad of genres and styles, with artists from the likes of Anna Meredith and Oliver Coates to Mara Carlyle and Lady Maisery. Enjoy!

  1. Anna Meredith – Something Helpful [Moshi Moshi]
  2. Oliver Coates – Another Day [PRAH Recordings]
  3. Mara Carlyle – How It Felt To Kiss You [Ancient & Modern]
  4. Mesadorm – Drink You [Babylegs Records]
  5. Olivia Chaney – Blessed Instant [Nonesuch]
  6. Mira Calix – The Stockholm Syndrome [Warp]
  7. Kronos Quartet with Bryce Dressner – Little Blue Something [Anti-]
  8. Lady Maisery – This Woman’s Work [RootBeat Records]
  9. Ties Mellema: Jacob Ter Veldhuis – Grab It!
  10. Oliver Coates – Tommib Help Buss [PRAH Recordings]
  11. Nadia Sirota – Etude No.3 [Bedroom Community]
  12. Laurie Anderson – O Superman [Warner Bros.]
  13. Håkon Austbø and Olivier Messiaen- I. Regard du Pere [Naxos]
  14. Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim – West Side Story: Tonight [United Artists]

Mixtape #79

Australian trio PVT, formerly known as Pivot, had us right from the release of their debut album nearly a decade ago. Going even stronger today, brothers Richard and Laurence Pike and Dave Miller have a much anticipated fifth album, New Spirit, out next month. So we're ecstatic to start off 2017 with a mixtape put together by Richard Pike:

"I'm not sure how these have directly influenced New Spirit, but it's a selection of tracks that I found myself coming back to during songwriting. So I guess that means something. I avoided vocals in this mix because at the time I was only focused on finding the right sound palette, and letting my own lyrical ideas evolve over that palette. I otherwise have nothing against vocalists. This mix is very electronic. With a focus on futurism."


Anna Meredith drops new single, ‘Taken’, ahead of debut album

Anna Meredith - TakenWe’ve been waiting for Anna Meredith‘s debut album to come out for a long time. Varmints arrives on March 4th via Moshi Moshi, and the electronic contemporary composer has already enticed us with two ace tracks, ‘Honeyed Words’ and ‘R-Type‘. Now she has shared another single off it, ‘Taken’, and it makes us glad that the record is just around the corner. Listen to ‘Taken’ now.

Watch the video for Anna Meredith’s ‘R-Type’

Anna Meredith - R-TypeThe amazing rave of a song that is ‘R-Type’ has been given the visual treatment. ‘R-Type’ is the second single lifted from Anna Meredith’s forthcoming debut album, Varmints, due out on March 4th via Moshi Moshi. Watch the fittingly kaleidoscopic video below, directed by Jonny Sanders.

In other related news, and in support of Varmints, Anna Meredith has announced her first UK/European tour, including a show at London’s ICA on March 29th.

Anna Meredith details debut album and shares new single ‘R-Type’

Anna Meredith - R-Type

After teasing her debut album a couple of weeks ago with ‘Honeyed Words’, electronic contemporary composer Anna Meredith has shared another tremendous track called ‘R-Type’.
Details of the album have also emerged. The effort will be called Varmints and it drops on March 4th via Moshi Moshi.

“Pacing is a physical thing,” explained Anna Meredith. “I can feel when stuff has to happen in a track. I knew I wanted Varmints to end privately but start confidently, have moments of privacy and moments of power and build’.”

Now turn your speakers up for the absolute club banger that ‘R-Type’ is. It will have you dancing in seconds.