Mixtape #91

The year is off to a wonderful start with our first mixtape coming from Bosnian-born and Swiss-based musician and composer Mario Batkovic, a virtuoso and adventurous accordion player. Mario dazzled us with his recent eponymous album, a beguiling, powerful and emotional work that ended up being one of our album picks for 2017. So we're ecstatic to unveil his mixtape, mirroring his array of influences, from classical and jazz to Balkan and experimental music. Press play and enjoy.

  1. Kaos – Plavo-sivo [Ne! Records]
  2. Rom Schaerer Eberle – Après nous le déluge
  3. Reverend Beat-Man – Don’t Stop To Dance [Voodoo Rhythm]
  4. Beak – Wulfstan II [Invada]
  5. Karlheinz Stockhausen – Studie II [Deutsche Grammophon]
  6. Ligeti – Atmospheres [WERGO]
  7. Ludwig Van Beethoven – Egmont Overture
  8. Paul Barton: Domenico Scarlatti – Sonata in D minor
  9. Bijelo Dugme – Lipe cvatu, Sve Je Isto K’o I Lani [Diskoton /Kamarad]
  10. Prljavo kazaliste – Crno bijeli svijet [Suzy]

BEAK> soundtracks the season with new single ‘(Merry Xmas) Face The Future’

With the festive month in full swing, Bristol’s BEAK> have shared the most fitting song for the season, ‘(Merry Xmas) Face The Future’. The track is available on the trio’s bandcamp for a mere quid and what’s more, all the proceeds will be donated to the National Elf Service and The Mental Elf, an online resource for Mental Health information. ‘(Merry Xmas) Face The Future’ also comes with a brilliant and grim video. Take a look below.

Mixtape #45

We've never kept our love for Oakland based psychedelic pop band Mwahaha a secret. Their mind blowing 2011 self-titled debut album, which was re-released last summer, remains an active favourite of ours. So we're excited to announce that this month's mixtape was handpicked by Ross Peacock, the band's vocal, synth, and drum-machine wizard. He lined up fifteen tracks that will take you on a journey through time and space, and then back. Enjoy the trip!


BEAK> announce release of deluxe boxset and share new track

Bristol trio BEAK> have announced the release of a deluxe limited edition fabric boxset of their recently released somophore album >>.
The boxset will be on sale at the band’s upcoming live shows and a small number of copies is now available at the label’s website.
The upcoming boxset features ten previously unreleased tracks, recorded during the >> sessions. BEAK> have unveiled one of these unreleased tracks, ‘0898’, and you can listen to it below.

BEAK> announce somophore album and share new track

British trio BEAK>, comprising frontman Geoff Barrow (of Portishead fame) and fellow Bristol natives Matt Williams and Billy Fuller have announced the follow up to their 2009’s self-titled debut album.
Their upcoming somophore effort, entitled >>, will be released digitally on June 13th and a physical release arrives on June 11th in the UK and July 3rd in the US via Barrow’s own Invada Records.
‘Yatton’ is the first cut off >>, a hypnotic krautrock track. Listen to it below.