Mixtape #80 by Brandt Brauer Frick

One of the most refreshing and thrilling things in music for the past decade has to be Brandt Brauer Frick. The acoustic dance trio from Berlin craft a sound that is as original as it is unclassifiable, combining traditional jazz instrumentation with electronica, and drawing influences from disparate musical worlds. Their last album, Joy, made it swiftly to our 15 Album Picks of 2016, so we're over the moon to present the intoxicating mix they put together for us this month, featuring tracks old and new from all around the globe. Press play and dance!

  1. ESG – Tiny Sticks [99 Records]
  2. Liquid Liquid – Optimo [99 Records]
  3. Can – Mushroom [United Artists Records]
  4. Marijata – No Condition Is Permanent [Gapophone Records]
  5. Chick Corea – Wind Danse [Polydor]
  6. Shuggie Otis – Aht Uh Mi Head [Epic / CBS]
  7. Dur Dur Band – Ethiopian Girl (I’ve Been Thinking About You)
  8. LCD Soundsystem – 45:33 (Theo Parrish’s Space Cadet Remix) [DFA]
  9. Patrick Cowley – Somebody to Love Tonight [Dark Entries]
  10. Hildegard Knef – Im 80. Stockwerk [Stern Musik / Decca]
  11. Palais Schaumburg – Wir bauen eine neue Stadt [Phonogram]
  12. D.A.F. – Was Ziehst Du An Heute Nacht [Virgin]
  13. Carlos Nino – 4 Directions Collage (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson) [Leaving Records]
  14. Farben – Love To Love You Baby [Klang Elektronik]
  15. Flying Lotus – Heave(n) [Warp]
  16. Thundercat – Tenfold [Brainfeeder]
  17. Jeff Mills – Revolt [Axis]
  18. Throbbing Gristle – Convincing People [Industrial Records]
  19. J Dilla – One For Ghost [Stones Throw Records]
  20. Gil Scott-Heron – The Revolution Will Not Be Televised [Flying Dutchman / RCA]

Mixtape #49 by Get The Blessing

Earlier this year, we were stunned by the new album from Bristolian quartet Get The Blessing. They won us over with their wonderful blend of sounds drawing from jazz to pop and electronica. So this month we've asked them to put together our mixtape and even though they were busy (and still are) touring Europe, they obliged. And we're sure glad they did, press play already!


New cut unveiled from Can – The Lost Tapes

As previously posted, Mute will release Can – The Lost Tapes, a three-CD box set featuring unreleased studio and live material and soundtracks of unfinished films, curated by Can’s keyboard player Irmin Schmidt and Mute’s Daniel Miller.

Can – The Lost Tapes arrives on June 18th in Europe and a day later in the US via Mute and you can pre-order it here.

Last month Mute offered the groovy track ‘Millionenspiel’ off the forthcoming triple album. Now another great track off it has just emerged, ‘Deadly Doris’. The track, recorded in a castle, features Can’s original vocalist Michael Mooney. Here’s what Irmin Schmidt said about it:

“[This was a] spontaneous live composition from the time in Schloss Nörvenich. The owner of the castle – who let us use the studio for free – was an art collector and sometimes we would play for his guests at the opening nights of exhibitions. Malcolm loved to confuse the people by using an actual event – somebody was called Doris – repeat a few words relating to that event over and over again, like a mantra, obsessively until it would actually become scary.”

Here it is.

Box set of unreleased tracks by Can arrives in June

Legendary and influential krautrock outfit Can are releasing The Lost Tapes, a 3-CD box set featuring unreleased studio and live material and also soundtracks of films that were never completed.

Can’s keyboard player Irmin Schmidt and Mute’s Daniel Miller curated The Lost Tapes and Jono Podmore helped to compile and edit it.

The material was found after the Can studio in Weilerswist was sold to the German Rock’ N’ Pop Museum.

“Whilst dismantling the studio, master tapes were found and stored in the Spoon archive. With barely legible labeling, no one was sure what was on these until Irmin Schmidt and long time collaborator Jono Podmore started to go through over 30 hours of music.” says the issued press release.
“What they found was years of archived material, not outtakes, but rather tracks which had been shelved for a variety of reasons – soundtracks to films that were never released and tracks that didn’t make it onto the final versions of albums due to space.”

The tracks were recorded between 1968 and 1977 with Can members Holger Czukay on bass, Michael Karoli on guitars, Jaki Liebezeit on drums and Irmin Schmidt on keyboards, and vocals from Damo Suzuki and Malcolm Mooney on most tracks.

The Lost Tapes will be released on June 18th in Europe and a day later in the US via Mute.

The first taster from this upcoming collection is the excellent and groovy opening track ‘Millionenspiel’. Enjoy.