Mixtape #27

  1. Elfin Saddle – The Changing Wind [Constellation Records]
  2. Gulp – Diamonds In The Sky [E.L.K.]
  3. CocoRosie – Tearz For Animals (Feat. Antony Hegarty) [Touch And Go]
  4. Primus – Lee Van Cleef [ATO Records / Prawn Song]
  5. Esmerine – Front End Loader [Constellation Records]
  6. Dan Deacon – Lots [Domino]
  7. Animal Collective – Honeycomb [Domino]
  8. Micachu & The Shapes – OK [Rough Trade]
  9. Family Fodder – The Onliest Thing [The state51 Conspiracy]
  10. The Dead Science – Death Duel Productions [Constellation Records]
  11. Friends – Mind Control [Lucky Number / Fat Possum]
  12. Siskiyou – Twigs And Stones [Constellation Records]
  13. Taraf De Haidouks – Tot Taraful [Crammed]
  14. Julia Holter – With Loue To Toune [Sixteen Tambourines Records]
  15. Van Dyke Parks – The All Golden [Rhino]


Dan Deacon announces new album and offers first single

Baltimore electronic maestro Dan Deacon has just announced the release of his new album America. It follows his 2009’s Bromst and is due out on August 27th in Europe and a day later in North America via Domino.

According to the issued press release, America “demonstrates anger, confusion, and apocalyptic anxiety over corporatism and war, but finds consolation in the geography of the United States and in recent social movements both domestic and international.”

The album reflects Deacon’s recent experiences with classical music, commissioned work and collaborations, including his first film score for a Francis Ford Coppola film.

‘Lots’ is the first single lifted from ‘America’, a mighty first taste that will leave you wanting more. You can listen to ‘Lots’ below and download it free here.

[audio:http://castthedice.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/Dan-Deacon-Lots.mp3|titles=Dan Deacon – Lots]

3rd Spin

  1. Io Echo – When Lillies Die
  2. Stereolab – Sun Demon
  3. Dan Deacon – Pink Batman
  4. Celebration – Hands Off My Gold
  5. Teeth Mountain – Keinsein
  6. So Percussion and Matmos – Treasure
  7. Jono McCleery – Tomorrow
  8. Sister Suvi – Violence Wild Thing
  9. Mahjongg – Tell The Police The Truth
  10. Prince Rama – Lightening Fossil
  11. Luis Costa – Little Maestro
  12. Won James Won – Tanta Di Panza 77
  13. Slouch – The Wires (Skylines EP version)
  14. Señor Coconut – Trans Europe Express (Cumbia)
  15. Hayvanlar Alemi – Mavi Sepet