Mixtape #140

With a career spanning more than two decades, celebrated British composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer Danny Mulhern has amassed a portfolio of award winning film and tv soundtrack work, solo releases and a long standing collaboration with the London Contemporary Orchestra. This month he is set to step in the spotlight again with the release of his fifth album, Singing Through Others, a beautiful sonic triumph effortlessly marrying contemporary classical music with elements of ambient and electronic. We’re over the moon to unveil his sublime mix giving a thumbs up to some of the artists that have inspired him.

  1. Mary Lattimore – Sometimes He’s In My Dreams [Ghostly International]
  2. N KRAMER – Wading Through The Grass [Leaving Records]
  3. Woo – Waterdrum [Independent Project Records / Drag City]
  4. Woo – Sarah [Emotional Rescue]
  5. Felbm – Florissant
  6. Danny Mulhern – Cloud Cuckoo [Enate Music / Kontor Media]
  7. Andrew Wasylyk – A Further Look at Loss [Athens Of The North]
  8. Beata Hlavenková – Scenery [Animal Music]
  9. Dave Okumu – Son Of Emmerson [Transgressive Records]
  10. Moondog – Bird’s Lament [Kopf]
  11. Daniel Herskedal – The Mariner’s Cross [Edition Records]
  12. Matthew Halsall – Mindfulness Meditations [Gondwana Records]
  13. Absolutely Free – How To Paint Clouds (Joseph Shabason Remix) [Boiled Records]
  14. Corntuth – D-005 [Flow State Records]
  15. Chico Hamilton – Andante [Pacific Jazz]
  16. Joseph Shabason – Our Place ft. Thom Gill [Western Vinyl]
  17. Max Cooper – Inanimate to Animate ft. Kotomi [Mesh]
  18. Kafari – What If
  19. G.S. Schray – District Lizards [Last Resort]
  20. Corntuth – A-001 [Flow State Records]
  21. Dictaphone – 808.14.4 [Denovali Records]
  22. Slow Attach Ensemble – Dance Four [Reliable Effects]
  23. Caroline Shaw and Sō Percussion – The Flood Is Following Me [Nonesuch Records]
  24. Quest Ensemble – The Boatman [PFT Records]
  25. Group Listening – Wenn Der Südwind Weht [PRAH]
  26. Felbm – Tandem [Soundway]
  27. Wilson Tanner – Before Lotus [Growing Bin Records]

Watch Danny Mulhern’s video for new single ‘We Are Not Machines’

In anticipation of his forthcoming album Singing Through Others, accomplished and seasoned composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer Danny Mulhern has shared a second single entitled ‘We Are Not Machines’. It follows ‘A Different Kind Of Blue’ and gives us a new taster of the cinematic and transfixing voyage to come from Mulhern’s fifth record, out on September 16th through Enate Music/Kontor Media. ‘We Are Not Machines’ comes with an accompanying video, filmed and edited by Mulhern. Here it is.

Danny Mulhern set to release new album, Singing Through Others, in September

With a catalogue busy with film and tv soundtracks since the early-2000s, British composer and multi-instrumentalist Danny Mulhern is gearing up to release his fifth album titled Singing Through Others. As with recent works, on the new album Mulhern continues to collaborate with the London Contemporary Orchestra. Described as a “meditation on relationships”, Singing Through Others takes its title from the words of poet and philosopher Nora Bateson, who also features on the record.

We’ll have to wait until September 16th for the album to be out through Enate Music/Kontor Media but luckily we can already hear the wonderful single ‘A Different Kind Of Blue’. Mulhern comments:

“I sense that our culture is pretty beset with cynicism. On Singing Through Others I wanted to carry a torch for earnestness, and explore a melodic and tonal side of neoclassical music. The 7/8 time signature of A Different Kind Of Blue seems to straddle convention and weirdness in a pleasing way. It has a more zoomed-out palate of sounds than my previous records. Using electronics, jazz and band instruments alongside the orchestral players. It’s a chilled and playful polyrhythmic piece, and one of my favourites on the album.”

The single is offered with an accompanying video directed, animated and conceived by Antony Barkworth-Knight. Watch it now.