Mixtape #94

With April comes a superb mixtape lovingly put together by wonderful and prolific Greek composer, electronic musician and producer Serafim Tsotsonis. With an immense portfolio spanning four albums and compositions and collaborations in the worlds of film, television, and theatre, his influences are vast, flirting with genres from neo-classical and ambient to post-rock and dream pop. You'll find a bit of all of this and more in his mix so press play and enjoy!

  1. Fennesz – The Point of It All [Touch]
  2. Demen – Mea [Kranky]
  3. Brian Eno & Harold Budd – Still Return [Virgin Records]
  4. Jon Hassell & Ry Cooder – Nature Boy [Water Lily Acoustics]
  5. Ocean Hope -Tame [Hush Hush]
  6. Boards Of Canada – One Very Important Thought [Warp]
  7. Weyes Blood – In the Beginning [Mexican Summer]
  8. Ryuichi Sakamoto – andata (Oneohtrix Point Never Rework) [Milan Music]
  9. Efterklang – The Living Layer [4AD]
  10. Bibio – Kaini Industries (Original By Boards of Canada) [Warp]
  11. Slowdive – Don’t Know Why [Dead Oceans]
  12. Alfred Schnittke – II
  13. Robin Guthrie and Harold Budd – Outside, Silence [Soleil Apres Minuit]
  14. Anna Calvi – The Bridge [Domino]
  15. Preoccupations – Disarray [Jagjaguwar]
  16. Peter Broderick – Carried [Erased Tapes Records]
  17. Insecure Men – Ulster [Fat Possum Records]
  18. Johann Johannsson – Melodia (i) [4AD]
  19. Christina Vantzou – Vhs [Kranky]
  20. Manos Hadjidakis – To Vals Ton Hamenon Oniron

Mixtape #81

We're honoured to have this month's mixtape curated by one of our long-time favourite bands, Efterklang. The Berlin-based Danish trio of childhood friends Mads Brauer, Casper Clausen and Rasmus Stolberg have a knack at keeping us enthralled with their brilliantly orchestrated compositions that transcend genres. They constantly venture in new and exciting directions, as shows their latest release, the collaborative opera album Leaves – The Colour of Falling, which was one of our Album Picks of 2016. So be prepared to discover some surprises as you dig in the trove of tracks they picked for us!


Efterklang/Fundal share new single ‘Stillborn’ from forthcoming opera album

EFTERKLANG  FUNDAL - StillbornEfterklang are back with Leaves – The Colour of Falling, a collaborative album with Karsten Fundal set for release next month. Initially an explorative opera commissioned by the Copenhagen Opera Festival, it was performed live last year in the 1000 m2 nuclear basement of the former Copenhagen Municipal Hospital.

Following the sublime ‘The Colour Not of Love’, Efterklang/Fundal are enticing us further with another single off Leaves – The Colour of Falling, the staggering and sombre ‘Stillborn’, featuring the glorious vocals of soprano Katinka Fogh Vindelev. Katinka, who had previously worked with both Efterklang and Fundal, described her involvement in the song:

“I sang “Stillborn” in the highest of platform heels while being 5-month pregnant with a 20 meter-long veil of shrinkwrap flapping behind me. It was in all ways a macabre moment and also my absolute highlight in the opera. My otherwise pretty restrained character wedged herself slowly through an audience captured in a narrow corridor bathed in cold blue lighting.”

‘Stillborn’ is being offered with an accompanying video, also featuring Katinka. Lend your eyes and ears to it now.

Leaves – The Colour of Falling is out on November 4th via Tambourhinoceros.

Efterklang return with collaborative opera album Leaves – The Colour of Falling

EFTERKLANG  FUNDAL - The Colour Not of LoveLast summer the Copenhagen Opera Festival commissioned Efterklang and Karsten Fundal to compose an explorative opera entitled Leaves – The Colour of Falling. Efterklang performed the opera live then in 16 sold out shows in the 1000 m2 nuclear basement of the former Copenhagen Municipal Hospital. Now, and marking the return of the Danish trio, the opera is being officially released for the first time. What’s more, Efterklang are performing it again live in early 2017, having recently announced a string of European shows with The Happy Hopeless Orchestra.

‘The Colour Not of Love’, one of the sublime songs off Leaves – The Colour of Falling, is now streaming. Karsten Fundal had this to say about it:

“This song is very special to me as it really got under my skin when we made it. Efterklang have arranged and adapted the composition in their usual hyper sensitive understanding of what the music is about. In some ways we shifted roles on this one – I made this relatively catchy melody and its simple harmonies and basic arrangement. Efterklang added the string and vocal arrangements. The lyrics are very impressionistic and somewhat melancholic as they evolve around the colour green – the colour of love and the colour not of love. It works beautifully in English because of all the wordplays. It’s a really great example of Ursula Andkjær Olsen’s poetry as she plays with triviality while abolishing linearity as she calls for our innermost emotions in the secret meaning behind the words”

Grab Leaves – The Colour of Falling when it’s out on November 4th via Tambourhinoceros and now check out to ‘The Colour Not of Love’ and the video that accompanies it.

Royal Canoe rework Efterklang’s ‘Between The Walls’

Efterklang - Between The Walls (Royal Canoe remix)

We’ve long been fans of Canadian sextet Royal Canoe. And we’ve long been fans of Danish trio Efterklang. The two bands crossed paths this last summer whilst playing in some of the same European festivals and Royal Canoe offered to rework one of Efterklang’s songs. The result is a dazzling and inspired remix of ‘Between The Walls’. The original track is featured on Efterklang’s fourth album Piramida, released last year.
In other related news, Royal Canoe are on the final leg of their European tour, which wraps in Manchester this Saturday November 16th. Go to see them live if you can, you’re in for one hell of a treat!
Now here’s the remix of ‘Between The Walls’.