New album from Esmerine arrives in October

We’re over the moon to hear that Esmerine are set to release a new album, following last year’s monumental Lost Voices and the wonderful and glorious Dalmak, which was one of our Album Picks of 2013. Entitled Mechanics Of Dominion, the album blends together elements of Neo-Classical, Minimalist, Modern Contemporary, Folk, Baroque, Jazz and Rock genres “to invoke lamentation, meditation, resolve, resistance and hope”, as the label describes. “It is a requiem for our intractably suffering planet and a paean to the inscrutable, essential dignity of indigenous ethics and the natural world, and to modern human frailty and ingenuity.”

As with Esmerine’s previous albums, Jace Lasek took on production duties, and again contributes as a featured guest, as does Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s violinist Sophie Trudeau, amongst others.

Mechanics Of Dominion marks their sixth album release, and is due out on October 20th through Constellation. Luckily, we can already wrap our ears around two magnificent and compelling tracks from the record, the closing track ‘Piscibus Maris’ and the opener ‘The Space In Between’. Both are laced together in a befitting video made by Brad Todd.

Esmerine’s new album Lost Voices arrives next month

Esmerine - Lost Voices

We have been eagerly waiting for a new album from Esmerine since their 2013 glorious and wonderful Dalmak, which was one of our Album Picks of the Year. Fortunately, news of their fifth full-length emerged last month. The Montréal chamber rock ensemble will release their new effort, Lost Voices, on October 16th via Constellation.
The label describes the album as “the most dynamic and incendiary record of the group’s career”, adding that it is “cerebral and visceral, controlled and volatile, and wholly cinematic in scope throughout.”.
Lost Voices sees Esmerine expand their core line-up, with the addition of bassist Jeremi Roy, who had been a touring member since 2013. The album was recorded by Vid Cousins (Kid Koala, Amon Tobin, Colin Stetson) and it was mixed and produced by Jace Lasek (The Besnard Lakes). Cousins and Lasek are also two of the stellar contributors guesting on some of the album tracks, alongside Godspeed You! Black Emperor/Thee Silver Mt. Zion violinist Sophie Trudeau, Colin Stetson and James Hakan Dedeoglu, amongst others.
The first taste from the album comes in the shape of ‘The Neighbourhoods Rise’, the monumental opening track. Here it is.

Mixtape #47 by Esmerine

We love Esmerine. Their heartfelt, adventurous, and majestic compositions are filled with beauty. Their latest release, Dalmak, made it in our Album Picks 2013, so needless to say we're more than a little excited to present the mixtape they've put together for us this month. Pack your boots and get ready for a round-the-world musical trip. And for the first time on Cast the Dice, the mixtape includes special cameo appearances from a blue jay and a raven!


Esmerine bring Dalmak to Europe, tour starts next week

ESMERINE - Europe Tour 2013

Esmerine‘s glorious and wonderful fourth album, Dalmak, came out last September. In support of the album, the Canadian quartet are embarking on a two-week European tour, starting in Utrecht on November 29th at Le Guess Who? Festival. The UK leg of the tour includes shows in Bristol, Brighton, Sheffield, Colchester and London. Check all the tour dates and other info here.
This tour will see Esmerine’s core line-up expanded as they’ll be joined by 3 additional guest players on Turkish strings and percussion instruments, including Hakan Vreskala who had also helped to record Dalmak in Istambul.
To tease the upcoming tour, Esmerine have unveiled a trailer. Check it out below, and to entice you further, listen to ‘Barn Board Fire’ straight after, one of the magnificent cuts off Dalmak. Go to see them live if you can, they will shine.

Dalmak is out now via Constellation.