Gala Drop return with third studio album Amizade

Eight years on from the release of II, Portuguese outfit Gala Drop are back with a new album entitled Amizade, which means friendship. Now a trio comprising Afonso Simões, Nelson Gomes and Rui Dâmaso, Gala Drop crafted the album following a residence at gnration. According to the press release, “never before had the band been so blatantly dubby … or lined up distinct historical moments from the UK’s hardcore continuum – pianola in rave euphoria and cut up vocals”.

Amizade arrives on October 14th through GDRecords and ahead of it they have let loose the first single, ‘Monte do Ouro’. The track is offered with a video made by visual artist Sara Graça. Watch it now.

Gala Drop return with second full-length album

Gala Drop - II

Portuguese psych experimentalist outfit Gala Drop are back with a new album, their first in over six years. The new effort, II, is set to be released on November 24th via Golf Channel Recordings.
Gala Drop recruited Detroit ex-pat Jerry The Cat (Parliament, Funkadelic, John Lee Hoker) as a guest collaborator. “It’s as a vocalist he makes his mark on II”, says the press release, adding that “his dub-smeared murmurs and galvanizing cries push[ing] Gala Drop even further away from the introspective, delay-pedal drone duo they started out as nearly a decade ago”.
Ahead of the album’s release, Gala Drop have dropped two cuts off it, the ‘Sun Gun’ and ‘You And I’, the latter being offered with a video by Pedro Maia. Listen to both tracks below.

Mixtape #25

  1. Yellow Magic Orchestra – Seoul Music [Alfa Records]
  2. Tyondai Braxton – Pulse March [Cantaloupe Music]
  3. Gala Drop – Broda [Gala Drop Records]
  4. Pinkunoizu – Death Is Not A Cover [Full Time Hobby]
  5. Seluah – Sail Straight Into The Bombs [Karate Body Records]
  6. Ensemble Economique – To Feel The Night As It Really Is [Dekorder]
  7. Debo Band – Belomi Benna [self-released]
  8. Ryan Power – Mondo Rush [NNA Tapes]
  9. Halo Halo – Sunshine Kim [Savoury Days / M'Lady's Records]
  10. Yo La Tengo – Everyday [Matador Records]
  11. Dean Cercone – A Reflection Of You [self-released]
  12. Black To Comm – Mirror [De Stijl]
  13. Blank Realm – Full Moon Door [Bedroom Suck]
  14. Kevin Ayers – Town Feeling [Harvest]
  15. Ela Orleans – Reading Stones [La Station Radar]

Gala Drop announce the release of collaborative album with Ben Chasny

Gala Drop - Broda

Portuguese psych experimentalist quintet Gala Drop announced yesterday the release of their second album Broda, a collaborative effort with North-American guitarist Ben Chasny (Six Organs of Admittance / Comets On Fire).

Broda drops on March 30th via their own Gala Drop imprint and you can now get a first taster from the album with the mind-blowing jammy title track embedded below.
Gala Drop have also unveiled a teaser video for the upcoming album made by André Abel. Check it out.