Mario Batkovic set to release new album, Introspectio, in December

There’s exciting news from Bosnian-born and Swiss-based musician and composer Mario Batkovic, who is set to release a new album, following his eponymous album which was one of our Album Picks of 2017. Entitled Introspectio, the album arrives on December 3rd through Invada Records and features a stellar cast of collaborators, including electronic maverick James Holden, former BEAK> member Matthew Williams aka MXLX, sax super hero Colin Stetson, drummer Clive Deamer (Radiohead/Portishead/Robert Plant/Roni Size) and concert choir Cantus Domus.

A virtuoso accordion player, Batkovic continues to explore the sonic possibilities of his instrument in an adventurous and unconventional way. The album “is a self-questioning, self-examination of society and the meaning of sound”, describes the press release. “Batkovic questions the place of sound, clichés and prejudices, taking the listener on a journey through infinite universes of sound.”

Ahead of the album release, Batkovic has shared the first spellbinding single, ‘Chorea Duplex’, featuring James Holden. It comes with a video by Lukas Meier. Here it is.

Mixtape #115

Sourcing musical inspiration from far corners of the globe, Dijf Sanders creates rich compositions that embrace various cultures and genres. For his recent album, the ecstatic and exotic Puja, the Ghent based multi-instrumentalist and composer travelled to Nepal to absorb its sounds and compile field recordings. We asked him to put together this month's mixtape and we’re excited to unveil the splendid selection of tunes he picked and mixed for us. Press play and enjoy!

  1. Alice Coltrane – Journey in Satchidananda (feat. Pharoah Sanders) [UMG Recordings, Inc.]
  2. The Raincoats – Dancing in My Head [Rough Trade]
  3. Eden Ahbez – Eden’s Island [Del-Fi Records]
  4. Autechre – Pir [Warp]
  5. Moondog – Duet [Master Series, Inc.]
  6. Aphex Twin – Acrid Avid Jam Shred [Warp]
  7. Nuova Compagnia Di Canto Popolare – 2o Coro Delle Lavandaie [EMI]
  8. Squarepusher – Tommib [Warp]
  9. Köhn ‎- Goodbye Pluto [(K-RAA-K)³]
  10. Boards of Canada – Sixtyten [Warp]
  11. Beck – Blackhole [Geffen]
  12. Tarawangsawelas – Selalu [Morphine Records]
  13. James Holden – Renata [Border Community]
  14. Plastikman – Contain [NovaMute]
  15. Jean-Michel Jarre – Wooloomooloo [Disques Dreyfus / Polydor]