Mixtape #89

Jerusalem In My Heart have always dazzled us with their powerful and entrancing compositions, exploring and merging traditional Arabic music with electronic influences. Founded over a decade ago by prodigious and adventurous musician, composer and producer-in-demand Radwan Ghazi Moumneh, they are currently a performative audio-visual duo with Charles-André Coderre creating live projections on 16mm film. Ahead of the forthcoming 11th edition of Le Guess Who?, for which they are one of the guest co-curators, we are thrilled and honoured to unveil this special mixtape lovingly assembled by Radwan. Serving as a window into their extraordinary curation, it features music from each of the unique artists they have invited to perform. Now it's time to listen.

  1. Linda & Sonny Sharrock – Gary’s Step [Atco]
  2. Abdel Karim Shaar – Ya Msaharni(live)
  3. Alanis Obomsawin – Bush Lady [WaWa]
  4. Klein – Arrange
  5. Dedekind Cut – Maxine
  6. Moor Mother – Time Float [Don Giovanni]
  7. Farida – Maqam Al-Bayat [New Samarkand]
  8. Nadah El Shazly – Afqid Adh-Dhakira [Nawa]
  9. Matana Roberts – Pov Piti [Constellation]
  10. Linda Sharrock – Streets And Rivers [ECM]
  11. Oiseaux-Tempête – Bab Sharqi [Sub Rosa]
  12. Klein – Prologue [Hyperdub]
  13. Matana Roberts – Responsory [Constellation]
  14. Toukadime – Salah Sadaoui – Ana Achki Fezine

Mixtape #84

We're very excited to have Oiseaux-Tempête, the French band spearheaded by Frédéric D. Oberland and Stéphane Pigneul, behind the wheel of this month's mixtape. The band's music, strangely beautiful and beautifully strange, explores and experiments with many varied genres. To shed some light on their influences, here's their thrilling mix, about which they had this to say:

"16 tracks which fell off the back of our van during our last Spring tour in France and Belgium with Mondkopf, G.W.Sok, As Human Pattern, Two Or The Dragon & Charbel Haber. Recent discoveries or forever inspirations, hidden covers and rare gems, all the music you need for a perfect highway ambience."

  1. Einstürzende Neubauten – NNNAAAMMM [Potomak]
  2. Bästard –  Golden Lad [Ici D'Ailleurs]
  3. Jerusalem In My Heart – Al Affaq, Lau Mat, Lau Lau Lau Lau Lau Lau [Constellation]
  4. Om – Cremation Ghat I [Drag City]
  5. BIG|BRAVE -(Re)collection pt 2 [Southern Lord]
  6. David Lynch – The Ballad of Hollis Brown [Sunday Best Recordings]
  7. Silver Apples – I Have Known Love [Kapp Records]
  8. The Ex & Getatchew Mekuria – Tezalegn Yetentu [Terp Records]
  9. Faust / Nurse With Wound – Lass Mich [Art-errorist]
  10. Alice Coltrane – Atomic Peace [Impulse]
  11. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Plain Gold Ring [Mute]
  12. Pharmakon – Crawling On Bruised Knees [Sacred Bones]
  13. Scrambled Eggs & “A” Trio – Koji Kabuto (Ya Akruto) [Johnny Kafta's Kid Menu]
  14. Vangelis O. Papathanassiou – Sunny Earth [Vertigo]
  15. John Vartan and His Ensemble – Asa Inch Anem [Monitor Records]
  16. Scott Walker – Corps De Blah [4AD]

Jerusalem In My Heart stream new single ‘A Granular Buzuk’ from upcoming new album

Photo: Joseph Yarmush

Photo: Joseph Yarmush

We’re only a month away from the much anticipated release of Jerusalem In My Heart‘s second album, If He Dies, If If If If If If. The Montreal based audio-visual performance collective had already enticed us with the first single ‘7ebr El 3oyoun’ (‘Ink Of The Eyes’). Now they are previewing another incredible track from the album, ‘A Granular Buzuk’, featuring guest Sharif Sehnaoui on prepared guitar. Take a listen below.

If He Dies, If If If If If If will be released on September 4th via Constellation Records.

Jerusalem In My Heart share new single from upcoming second album

Jerusalem In My Heart

There’s a new album on the way from Montreal based audio-visual performance collective Jerusalem In My Heart, as we had previously mentioned. The upcoming If He Dies, If If If If If If, drops on September 4th via Constellation Records. Jerusalem In My Heart have just shared ‘7ebr El 3oyoun’ (‘Ink Of The Eyes’), an entrancing single featuring a guest contribution from Pierre-Guy Blanchard (of Pacha) on hand percussion. Listen to it below.

Jerusalem In My Heart announce second album If He Dies, If If If If If If

Jerusalem In My Heart - If He Dies, If If If If If If

Two years on from the release of Mo7it Al-Mo7it, Montreal based audio-visual performance collective Jerusalem In My Heart have announced its follow-up, If He Dies, If If If If If If.
The project’s mastermind, Radwan Ghazi Moumneh, has been busy lending a hand on production and engineering duties for incredible artists like Matana Roberts, Mashrou’ Leila, Ought and Eric Chenaux, not to mention the recent collaborative album with Canadian outfit Suuns.
Currently a duo, with fellow Montreal artist Charles-André Coderre on visual duties, Jerusalem In My Heart conceived and recorded the upcoming If He Dies, If If If If If If in their homes of Montréal and Beirut.

The album sees Moumneh “exploring new deconstructions and juxtapositions of both traditional and popular Arab musical currents”, as the press release describes, “with an album that oscillates between powerfully emotive vocal tunes and instrumental works that primarily make use of Radwan’s expressive acoustic playing on buzuk as a point of departure.”

If He Dies, If If If If If If arrives on September 4th via Constellation Records. To whet our appetite, Jerusalem In My Heart have shared a video featuring stunning new music. Here it is.

Suuns and Jerusalem In My Heart unleash video for ‘Gazelles in Flight’

SUUNS and Jerusalem In My Heart - Gazelles in Flight

As we had mentioned in January, Suuns and Jerusalem in My Heart have an eponymous collaborative album on the way, fruit of a week-long recording session in 2012. The album drops on April 14th via Secret City in Canada and Secretly Canadian worldwide. Suuns and Jerusalem In My Heart first enticed us with ‘Gazelles In Flight’ and now they are offering an accompanying video for the track, made with found footage. Charles-André Coderre directs. Watch it below.