Mixtape #96

We're thrilled to have composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer Kaada curating this month's mixtape. He conquered our ears a long time ago with his numerous and diverse projects spanning a wide range of genres, from classical to avant-garde, to rock and electronic. Member of the band Cloroform, he also frequently collaborates with Mike Patton and composes film scores as well as producing his own solo works, the latest of which, just out last week, is the utterly sublime album Closing Statements. Here's a few words from Kaada to accompany his magnificent sonic selection from traditional and modern classical composers.

"This playlist represents the music that I have been listening to the last month, and tracks that I have drawn inspiration from as i am working on my current projects. These are all really great tracks, to my ears."

  1. Donnacha Dennehy: Nadia Sirota, Liam Byrne – Part 2 [Bedroom Community]
  2. Ben Lukas Boysen – You’ll Miss Us One Day [Ad Noiseam / Erased Tapes]
  3. Roomful of Teeth (Caroline Shaw) – Partita for 8 singers – Part 2 Sarabande [New Amsterdam Records]
  4. Lutosławski (Alexander Liebreich & Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra) – Musique funèbre à la mémoire de Béla Bartók: Prolog Prologue [Accentus Music]
  5. Owen Pallett – Lewis Takes Off His Shirt [Domino]
  6. John Tavener (The Choir Of The Temple Church) – The Lamb [Decca]
  7. Castiglioni (Teresia Bokor)- Salmo XIX [Chandos]
  8. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – An Intention [Western Vinyl]
  9. Osvaldo Golijov – Vision: Bautismo en la Cruz [Deutsche Grammophon]
  10. A Winged Victory For The Sullen – Requiem For The Static King Part One [Erased Tapes / Kranky]
  11. Richard Reed Parry – Duet For Heart And Breath [Deutsche Grammophon]
  12. Játékok (Gábor Csalog) – VIII: Flowers We Are – For Miyako (For Four Hands) [BMC]
  13. Arvo Pärt (Estonian National Symphony Orchestra) – Summa [Virgin]

Kaada/Patton share animated video for ‘Red Rainbow’

Kaada/Patton - Red RainbowJohn Kaada and Mike Patton have released an animated video to accompany the magnificent, cinematic and haunting ‘Red Rainbow’. The track opens Bacteria Cult, their second collaborative album released last year through Ipecac. The stunning and spooky video is based on the short film The Absence Of Eddy, which features Mike Patton as the voice of the lead character. The video was directed by Rune Spaans and written and art directed by Dave Cooper.

Watch Kaada/Patton’s video for ‘Imodium’ off forthcoming album Bacteria Cult

Kaada Patton - ImodiumBacteria Cult, the new album from Norwegian composer John Kaada and Mike Patton (Faith No More, Tomahawk, Fantômas, Nevermen) is nearing its release date. Due out on April 1st via Ipecac Recordings, the upcoming album follows their 2007’s Kaada/Patton Live DVD and their 2004 album Romances. An orchestral collection of eight songs composed and performed by Kaada and Mike, Bacteria Cult also features the Stavanger Symfoniorkester.

Following the album’s incredible opener, ‘Red Rainbow’, the pair have unleashed an unsettling video for ‘Imodium’, matching the track’s eerie seductiveness. The effort was shot in Romania by Alexandru Ponoran and you can watch it below. And listen to ‘Red Rainbow’ straight after.