Mixtape #84

We're very excited to have Oiseaux-Tempête, the French band spearheaded by Frédéric D. Oberland and Stéphane Pigneul, behind the wheel of this month's mixtape. The band's music, strangely beautiful and beautifully strange, explores and experiments with many varied genres. To shed some light on their influences, here's their thrilling mix, about which they had this to say:

"16 tracks which fell off the back of our van during our last Spring tour in France and Belgium with Mondkopf, G.W.Sok, As Human Pattern, Two Or The Dragon & Charbel Haber. Recent discoveries or forever inspirations, hidden covers and rare gems, all the music you need for a perfect highway ambience."

  1. Einstürzende Neubauten – NNNAAAMMM [Potomak]
  2. Bästard –  Golden Lad [Ici D'Ailleurs]
  3. Jerusalem In My Heart – Al Affaq, Lau Mat, Lau Lau Lau Lau Lau Lau [Constellation]
  4. Om – Cremation Ghat I [Drag City]
  5. BIG|BRAVE -(Re)collection pt 2 [Southern Lord]
  6. David Lynch – The Ballad of Hollis Brown [Sunday Best Recordings]
  7. Silver Apples – I Have Known Love [Kapp Records]
  8. The Ex & Getatchew Mekuria – Tezalegn Yetentu [Terp Records]
  9. Faust / Nurse With Wound – Lass Mich [Art-errorist]
  10. Alice Coltrane – Atomic Peace [Impulse]
  11. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Plain Gold Ring [Mute]
  12. Pharmakon – Crawling On Bruised Knees [Sacred Bones]
  13. Scrambled Eggs & “A” Trio – Koji Kabuto (Ya Akruto) [Johnny Kafta's Kid Menu]
  14. Vangelis O. Papathanassiou – Sunny Earth [Vertigo]
  15. John Vartan and His Ensemble – Asa Inch Anem [Monitor Records]
  16. Scott Walker – Corps De Blah [4AD]

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds premiere video for ‘We No Who U R’

We have already heard the ethereal ‘We No Who U R’, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds‘ first single lifted from their forthcoming 15th studio album. Push the Sky Away will hit stores on February 18th in Europe and February 19th in the US.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds have unveiled a video to accompany the song, directed by acclaimed and controversial Argentinian director Gaspar Noé. Watch it below.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds release lead single from upcoming album

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds have recently announced the release of their 15th studio album. Push the Sky Away is due out on February 18th in Europe and a day later in the US.
Nick Cave describes the new album as “the ghost-baby in the incubator and Warren’s loops are its tiny, trembling heart-beat.” He adds that the “record just seems new, you know, but new in an old school kind of way”.

Push the Sky Away, recorded in a 19th Century mansion in the South of France, was produced by Nick Launay.
According to the album’s blurb, “at the heart of Push the Sky Away is a naturalism and warmth that makes it the most subtly beautiful of all the Bad Seeds albums”.

Today Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds are premiering the first beautifully orchestrated single from Push the Sky Away, ‘We No Who U R’. Listen to it below and straight after check out the album’s trailer.