Quest Ensemble unveil new single ‘The Boatman’

Photo: Zoe Maxwell

We are nearing the release of The Other Side, the upcoming second album from Quest Ensemble. Pianist Filipe Sousa, cellist Tara Franks and violinist Preetha Narayanan, the three masterful musicians who make up the London based trio, had previously shared the gorgeous and poignant ‘Moment’, serving as the first single from the album. Ahead of its release on June 19th, Quest Ensemble are charming us again with another stunning single,’The Boatman’. Here it is.

Quest Ensemble announce new album, The Other Side, and share lead single ‘Moment’

Scheduled for release in June, The Other Side is the second album from London based trio Quest Ensemble, following their highly acclaimed 2014 debut record Footfall.
Filipe Sousa (piano), Tara Franks (cello) and Preetha Narayanan (violin), who make up Quest Ensemble, are masterful musicians composing mesmeric cinematic pieces, which reflect and blend their backgrounds in western classical, Indian classical, jazz and improvisational technique. “Quest Ensemble’s compositions fuse layered melodies and rhythmic patterns to create contrapuntal webs of sound”, describes the press release. “The process involves sharing improvised ideas, building up layers of music on each instrument to create a patchwork of musical themes with a rich vein of surging Reichian rhythms underpinning each.”

For a taste of what to expect ahead of the album’s release on June 5th, take a listen to the gorgeous and poignant first single ‘Moment’.