Mixtape #65

Derbyshire based trio Haiku Salut conquered our ears with their sweet and quirky melodies and arrangements, crafted mostly using accordions, pianos, glockenspiels and ukuleles. Made up of Gemma and Sophie Barkerwood and Louise Croft, the band's two albums, Tricolore and Etch and Etch Deep, display their inventiveness and opens a window onto their unique and magical musical world, part folk, part classical and tinged with electronic influences. So we're thrilled to bits to start September with a marvellous mix of tracks picked by the band!


Watch Son Lux’s video for ‘You Don’t Know Me’

Son Lux - You Dont Know Me

Hot on the heels of the release of their new album, Bones, Son Lux are now offering a video for the mighty ‘You Don’t Know Me’. The effort was directed by Nathan Johnson and created by The Made Shop and it features Tatiana Maslany (Orphan Black) and Noah Segan (Looper).

Here’s what director Nathan Johnson said of the video:

“When Ryan first sent the album over to The Made Shop, this was the song that I kept coming back to. It touches a pretty raw nerve, and we wanted to explore the song in terms of the empty rituals we often see in relationships and, to a larger degree, religion.

We wrote the video specifically for Tatiana and designed everything around her performance. She’s such a phenomenal actor, and she brings something so compelling to the role – this powerful figure who is stuck in the vacancy of routines that have lost their meaning.”

Here’s the video.

Bones is out now via Glassnote.

Son Lux share new single ‘You Don’t Know Me’

Son Lux

Following the triumphantly beautiful and gritty first single ‘Change is Everything’, Son Lux are offering another mighty taste from their upcoming fourth album, Bones. The new song, ‘You Don’t Know Me’, features guest vocals from Moses Sumney & Hanna Benn. Here’s what guitarist Rafiq Bhatia said of the track:

“Created in the midst of multiple ongoing struggles for civil rights both in the U.S. and around the world, ‘You Don’t Know Me’ calls out the appropriators of dogma. It’s an open letter to anyone who misuses political and religious philosophies to subjugate and oppress their sisters and brothers.

This track is also a great illustration of the ephemeral collaborative process that birthed this LP. Ryan had bronchitis when he recorded the vocals, which were originally meant to be a placeholder take, but we had to keep them because their rawness serves the song. The drums uncannily mimic Ian’s playing, but were programmed by Ryan. The bassline that anchors the outro came from a single take of me improvising on octave-dropped guitar. We had Moses Sumney stack a million layers of vocals mimicking a part created on a japanese flute synth patch. Hanna Benn arranged and sang the outro choir parts after a phone call touching on Bach chorales and Mariah Carey. And, once we heard the new D’Angelo record, we realized that the track wouldn’t be complete without electric bass from Jack Hill.”

Listen to ‘You Don’t Know Me’ below and grab the album when it drops on June 22nd via Glassnote.

Son Lux unveil visual accompaniment for ‘Change is Everything’

Son Lux - Change is Everything

Last month we heard the triumphantly beautiful and gritty ‘Change is Everything’, the first single taken from Son Lux‘s upcoming fourth album Bones. The album is the band’s first as a trio, with producer and composer Ryan Lott’s original solo project turned into a trio with the addition of guitarist and composer Rafiq Bhatia and drummer Ian Chang. Son Lux have just unveiled a spectacular stop motion video to accompany ‘Change if Everything’, made by collective The Made Shop, featuring pins, yarn and boards. Watch it below and watch out for the release of Bones on June 22nd via Glassnote.

Son Lux announce new album Bones

Son Lux - Bones

Producer and composer Ryan Lott’s solo project Son Lux has turned into a trio with the addition of guitarist and composer Rafiq Bhatia and drummer Ian Chang. With the new line-up, comes the announcement of a new album, entitled Bones and due out on June 22nd via Glassnote. “Bones is a call to action, a document of personal and collective uprising”, describes the press release. “Themes of metamorphosis resonate in architectural, vivid sound.”
‘Change Is Everything’ is the first single to emerge from Bones, a triumphant, beautiful and gritty song. Listen to it below.

In support of the upcoming album, Son Lux have announced a series of intimate European pre-release shows including a special event at London’s Edition Hotel on May 5th.

Son Lux premieres video for ‘Lost It To Trying (Mouths Only Lying)’

Son Lux - Lost It To Trying (Mouths Only Lying)

Back in May, producer and composer Son Lux aka Ryan Lott released the Alternate Worlds EP, featuring reimagined versions of four tracks from his last year’s album Lanterns and a collaboration with Lorde. Son Lux has recently unveiled a video for ‘Lost It To Trying (Mouths Only Lying)’, lifted from the Alternate Worlds EP. Here’s what director Imogen Murphy said about it:

“The lush musical production and beautifully layered melody merited an intense narrative. The song is full of melancholy emotion so the treatment had to go deep and dark. The film shows a couple in a disintegrating relationship, unable to move on because of the weight of mutual negativity they carry.”

Watch the video for ‘Lost It To Trying (Mouths Only Lying)’ below.

Alternate Worlds is out now via Joyful Noise Recordings.