Sam Gendel announces new album, SUPERSTORE, and shares three new tracks

A mainstay in the Los Angeles’ contemporary jazz scene, it’d be easy to forget about all the releases and collaborations multi-instrumentalist and producer Sam Gendel is involved in. Just last year, Gendel added to his bountiful catalog AE-30, a film and audio album, a collaborative album with Sam Wilkes and another with Ethan Braun, a two-track digital single released through Nonesuch records, and a plethora of other musical offerings. Last year Gendel has also released a 52-track solo album, Fresh Bread, and he’s ready to follow it up with SUPERSTORE, a 34-song all genre record featuring unreleased music from personal archives of solo recordings and collaborations with players like Blake Mills, Gabe Noel, Kevin Yokota, and Philippe Melanson.

SUPERSTORE is set for release on June 10th through Leaving Records amd Gendel has let loose three cuts from it, ‘Blueblackred’, ‘La Guerra di Pierro’, and ‘Gu Shi’ ft. Blake Mills. Take a listen below.

Sam Gendel set to release film and audio album, AE-30, next week

Sam Gendel has been on a roll, treating us to countless stunning compositions. This year alone he unleashed a 52-track solo album, Fresh Bread, collaborated with Moses Sumney on ‘Can’t Believe It’, remixed Celia Hollander’s ’12:55 PM’, had a two-track digital single out on Nonesuch records featuring his interpretations of Duke Ellington’s ‘Isfahan’ and Cal Massey’s ‘My Little Suede Shoes’ and released two collaborative albums, one with Sam Wilkes, Music For Saxofone & Bass Guitar More Songs, and another with Ethan Braun, Rio Nilo 66. But the year is not over and he has another treat in store for us called AE-30. The effort is a film and audio album of his Sam Gendel x Roland AE-30 Aerophone Pro Digital Wind Instrument documentary, and was filmed by Marcella Cytrynowicz in remote locations in Iceland last August. The film and audio album will be released on December 8th through Leaving Records and ahead of it, Gendel has let loose the opening track, ‘BLKSND’. Listen to it below and straight after check out the AE-30 trailer.

Sam Gendel & Sam Wilkes set to release Music For Saxofone & Bass Guitar More Songs later this month

Two prominent names in the Los Angeles’ contemporary jazz scene and in-demand collaborators, Sam Gendel and Sam Wilkes released Music For Saxofone & Bass back in 2018. The pair are ready to follow it up with Music For Saxofone & Bass Guitar More Songs, a record featuring nine tracks from their live performance archives, including new songs and covers. Music For Saxofone & Bass Guitar More Songs arrives on July 21st through Leaving Records and ahead of it Gendel and Wilkes have shared ‘Cold Pocket’. Take a listen.

Mixtape #122

We are thrilled to have Bandler Ching kick off the year with our first mixtape of 2021. The Brussels based quartet, led by composer and saxophonist Ambroos De Schepper, swept us away with their effortless and groovy blend of contemporary jazz, electronics, hip-hop and noise. Their sterling first EP, Sub Surface, came out last autumn and with a debut album set for release this year, it’s a given that Bandler Ching will be making a splash in 2021. So it's with great joy that we present the phenomenal mix they put together for us. Feast your ears on this!

  1. Pierre Schaeffer – Étude Violette [INA-GRM / Librairie Séguier]
  2. Carate Urio Orchestra – Lover [Klein]
  3. Visible Cloaks – Terrazzo (ft. Motion Graphics) [Rvng Intl.]
  4. SCHNTZL – Tujiko [W.E.R.F.]
  5. Connan Mockasin – I’m The Man, That Will Find You [Phantasy Sound / Because Music]
  6. Earl Sweatshirt ft. Knxwledge – Balance [adult swim]
  7. Kate Tempest – Firesmoke [American Recordings]
  8. Shungu – Page 20: I Feel In Exile [Hot Record Societe]
  9. D’Angelo – Chicken Grease [Virgin / EMI]
  10. Bill Withers – Kissin’ My Love [A&M Records]
  11. WHOMAN – Shiny
  12. Sam Gendel & Sam Wilkes – Kiefer No Melody [Leaving Records]
  13. Sam Amidon – Light Rain Blues [Nonesuch]
  14. Thom Yorke – Runwayaway [XL Recordings]
  15. Frank Harris & Maria Marquez – Canto del Pilon [Third Wave Productions]
  16. Soft Focus – Flowers [San-kofa Rhythm Records]