Mixtape #109

We’re sliding into December with the perfect accompaniment for this season, with a warm and gentle mixtape put together by Brussels-based British musician Will Samson. With a penchant for old tape machines and analogue gear, and a falsetto voice of gold, Samson crafts profoundly beautiful and delicate compositions, exploring and navigating the seas of ambient, folk, experimental and electronic music. With a magical and heartfelt new album, Paralanguage, arriving in just a few days, we’re over the moon he compiled this wonderful mix of songs from artists that have inspired him. So dive in and enjoy!

  1. Brumes – I Unfold
  2. Benoit Pioulard – Incalesce [Thesis (2)]
  3. Paleo – 30th November
  4. Florist – What I Wanted To Hold [Double Double Whammy]
  5. Michael Feuerstack – Love Is All Around [Forward Music Group]
  6. S. Carey – More I See [Jagjaguwar]
  7. The Album Leaf – The Outer Banks [City Slang]
  8. Devendra Banhart – Middle Names [Nonesuch]
  9. Gareth Dickson – Two Halves [Discolexique]
  10. Julie Byrne – Natural Blue [Basin Rock | Ba Da Bing!]
  11. Do Make Say Think – Hooray! Hooray! Hooray! [Constellation]
  12. Brumes – Nature Face

Michael Feuerstack drops new single ‘The Devil’

Michael Feuerstack

With just over a week to go until Canadian singer/songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Michael Feuerstack releases his new album, The Forgettable Truth, the man is giving us another taste from the album with the new single ‘The Devil’. Stream it below and get the album when it’s out on February 17th via Forward Music.

In support of the new album, Feuerstack has just started a European tour, with a stop in London at The Strongroom Bar & Kitchen on March 3rd.

Michael Feuerstack announces new album The Forgettable Truth, shares first single

Michael Feuerstack - The Forgettable Truth

We first got to know Michael Feuerstack as a member of The Luyas, but the Canadian singer/songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist boasts an impressive CV under his own name and other alias. His newest offering, The Forgettable Truth, will see the light of day on February 17th via Forward Music.
The album is described as “a journey – posing answerless questions, shining light into dark corners, and binding classic songwriting to adventurous musicality.” To bring The Forgettable Truth to life, Feuerstack assembled a wonderful cast of musicians including Pietro Amato (Bell Orchestre, Luyas) on keys, Peter Xirogiannis on bass, and Mike Belyea (Jenn Grant) on drums.
‘Clackity Clack’ is the first single to emerge from the upcoming album. Check it out now.