Bibio’s tenth studio album, BIB10, out now

Bibio has been turning our heads for a long time, constantly taking exciting and unexpected turns from album to album since his 2005 debut album. Last month saw him release his tenth studio album aptly titled BIB10. “I like contrast between my albums,” Stephen Wilkinson aka Bibio explained. “When I finish an album, I crave doing something different for the next one.”

With influences drawn from the 60s, 70s, and 80s, BIB10 brings the groove back to forefront, with irresistible funky pop songs touching on disco and soul. Speaking about the album, he comments:

“I think as ten is such a milestone, I wanted this record to be more of a party album. It also has its dreamy and melancholy moments, but there’s a lot of fun and playfulness in this album”

BIB10 is out now through Warp. For a taste of what Bibio is throwing at us, watch his self-directed video for ‘S.O.L.’ below, and listen to the lead single ‘Off Goes The Light’ straight after.

Bibio set to release new EP, Sleep On The Wing; shares video for title track

There could be nothing better to uplift our spirits right now than the new balm-like song from Bibio. A year on from the release of Ribbons, Stephen Wilkinson aka Bibio has announced the release of Sleep On The Wing, a ten-track EP that “explor[es] the liberating power of imagination”, as he puts it. Along with the news, Bibio has shared the title track and offered a few words about it:

“Lyrically, I feel that the song has two aspects to it: The idea of being in the wake of a loss, and with hope, continuing the life of someone who has passed, through allowing oneself to be inspired by what they did during their lifetime and what they left behind, whether it’s the things they said, the knowledge they shared or the things they made.

The other aspect to the song is perhaps more direct, and talks of escaping the city to find peace in the countryside, but the title is more a celebration of dreaming and the liberating power of imagination, not necessarily a physical escape. Music has the power to inspire dreaming and fuel the imagination, and that’s what I’ve always found so addictive about music.”

‘Sleep On The Wing’ comes with an accompanying animated video directed by Sonnye Lim. Watch it below.

Sleep On The Wing is out on June 12th through Warp

Bibio unveils self-directed video for ‘Curls’ and brand new single ‘Old Graffiti’

As we had already mentioned, Bibio has a new album on the way, Ribbons, and as usual, it comes full of wonderful surprises. The gorgeous lead single ‘Curls’ is proof of that, and Bibio has paired it with a self-directed video. And to get us even more excited, he has also unveiled brand new single ‘Old Graffiti ‘. Check out both below.

Ribbons is out on April 12th through Warp.

Bibio releases new track ‘Curls’

Since his 2005 debut album, fi, Stephen Wilkinson aka Bibio has constantly evolved and thrived with each and every album he has thrown at us.
Following 2017’s Phantom Brickworks, Bibio has a new album on the way and as always, he continues to surprise and entice us. And also exploring new grounds, judging by the folksy flavours of fiddle showing through ‘Curls’, the gorgeous new track that is now streaming. Take a listen below and read a statement about it from Bibio himself straight after.

“Like with many of my songs and instrumental pieces, this song started out with a guitar riff. It then took on a melodic theme played on mandolin and violin, both being instruments I started playing in 2018.

Lyrically, the song is inspired by a collection of separate memories, observations and fantasies, seemingly unrelated but tied together by a theme of admiration of those small things in life. When I look back on recent years, some of the things that seem to be significant to me are these small observations and experiences, like the smell of rain on wool or fresh air captured in a person’s hair after coming inside from a walk outside.

These moments can be joyous and profound at times, a reminder of what life can be about, both meaningful and beyond meaning, which is a reminder for me that wordless songs often seem to say more than ones with lyrics.

These types of everyday moments can feel more significant or memorable than qualifications and ambitious achievements, they extend into the ancient and beyond one’s own inner world; the same consciousness was probably experiencing the same many millennia before us.

There are many good things in life that you can have too much of, except for fresh air, so perhaps that’s why it feels so welcome when it clings to us, and therefore, like these other little daily observations that resonate with me so much, it’s worthy of a mention in a song.”

Mixtape #94

With April comes a superb mixtape lovingly put together by wonderful and prolific Greek composer, electronic musician and producer Serafim Tsotsonis. With an immense portfolio spanning four albums and compositions and collaborations in the worlds of film, television, and theatre, his influences are vast, flirting with genres from neo-classical and ambient to post-rock and dream pop. You'll find a bit of all of this and more in his mix so press play and enjoy!

  1. Fennesz – The Point of It All [Touch]
  2. Demen – Mea [Kranky]
  3. Brian Eno & Harold Budd – Still Return [Virgin Records]
  4. Jon Hassell & Ry Cooder – Nature Boy [Water Lily Acoustics]
  5. Ocean Hope -Tame [Hush Hush]
  6. Boards Of Canada – One Very Important Thought [Warp]
  7. Weyes Blood – In the Beginning [Mexican Summer]
  8. Ryuichi Sakamoto – andata (Oneohtrix Point Never Rework) [Milan Music]
  9. Efterklang – The Living Layer [4AD]
  10. Bibio – Kaini Industries (Original By Boards of Canada) [Warp]
  11. Slowdive – Don’t Know Why [Dead Oceans]
  12. Alfred Schnittke – II
  13. Robin Guthrie and Harold Budd – Outside, Silence [Soleil Apres Minuit]
  14. Anna Calvi – The Bridge [Domino]
  15. Preoccupations – Disarray [Jagjaguwar]
  16. Peter Broderick – Carried [Erased Tapes Records]
  17. Insecure Men – Ulster [Fat Possum Records]
  18. Johann Johannsson – Melodia (i) [4AD]
  19. Christina Vantzou – Vhs [Kranky]
  20. Manos Hadjidakis – To Vals Ton Hamenon Oniron

Bibio’s new album Phantom Brickworks arrives next month

Bibio has a new record on the way called Phantom Brickworks, following last year’s A Mineral Love. Featuring nine new tracks, the record arrives on November 3rd through Warp. As is usual with Bibio’s releases, he offered some words about the it:

“I don’t believe in ghosts but I do believe places can be haunted by meaning. Places change, not always for the better and not always by natural, benevolent or politically sound means. A place can be charged with atmosphere because of what it has been through or what it has been.

Phantom Brickworks is a collection of mostly improvised musical pieces, that for some years now, have provided me with a mental portal into places and times – some real, some imaginary, some a combination of both. Human beings are highly sensitive to the atmospheres of places, which can be enhanced or dramatically altered when you learn about the context of their history. Echoes and voices can sometimes be heard, in some way or another. Places sometimes have things to say.”

The delicate, magical and eerie ‘Phantom Brickworks III’ is the first single lifted from the album and it comes with a perfectly paired video, also made by Bibio.