Mixtape #44 by Sons of Kemet


This month we have the immense privilege of having Shabaka Hutchings pick some of his favourite tracks for our mixtape. The very talented clarinettist, saxophonist and composer at the helm of Sons of Kemet, the vibrant polyrhythmic quartet from London, takes us on a musical odyssey with tunes from all over the planet. His selection defies classification but it clearly points towards a lush paradise where reeds and drums reign supreme.

  1. Cedric ‘Im’ Brooks – Sabasi [Total Sounds]
  2. Chris Dave and the Drumhedz – Didn’t Exist
  3. Mystic Revelation Of Rastafari – Bongo Man [Vulcan]
  4. Soul of Angola: Artur Nunes – Dito zé [Lusafrica]
  5. Thomas Mapfumo – Shumba [Earthworks]
  6. Eric Dolphy – African Lady (Take 4) [Candid Productions]
  7. Madosini – Uthando Luphelile Ie [Melt Music Phase 2]
  8. Wildbirds & Peacedrums – There Is No Light [The Leaf Label]
  9. Zim Ngqawana – Kubi [Sheer Sound]
  10. Flying Lotus – Testament (feat. Gonja Sufi) [Warp]
  11. Björk – Bath [One Little Indian]
  12. Craig Taborn Quartet – Junk Magic [Thirsty Ear]
  13. Ma – Virus
  14. Gonjasufi – Kowboyz & Indians [Warp]
  15. Hudson Mohawke – Fruit Touch [Warp]
  16. Death Grips – Lil Boy
  17. Acoustic Ladyland – Gratitude [Strong & Wrong]

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published.

No HTML but links are fine.