Supersilent set to release new album next month, share first cut ‘13.9’

Supersilent - 13Norway’s improvisational avant-jazz ensemble Supersilent have been steadily releasing exquisite albums for nearly two decades. Their most recent album, 2014’s 12, is now being followed up by 13. Helge Sten, Arve Henriksen and Ståle Storløkken, who make up the trio, recorded it live, as the album blurb describes, “while blasting their sound through a PA system, so that they can feel the physical air moving as if they were on stage”. They have evolved and adjusted to being a trio since the departure of drummer Jarle Vespestad in 2009, and we now find “all three often handling their respective instruments as if they were percussion, stabbing buttons and keys in real time”.

13 arrives on September 30th via Smalltown Supersound, and ahead of it, we can already hear the sublime ‘13.9’. Take a listen now.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No HTML but links are fine.