New album from Esmerine arrives in October

We’re over the moon to hear that Esmerine are set to release a new album, following last year’s monumental Lost Voices and the wonderful and glorious Dalmak, which was one of our Album Picks of 2013. Entitled Mechanics Of Dominion, the album blends together elements of Neo-Classical, Minimalist, Modern Contemporary, Folk, Baroque, Jazz and Rock genres “to invoke lamentation, meditation, resolve, resistance and hope”, as the label describes. “It is a requiem for our intractably suffering planet and a paean to the inscrutable, essential dignity of indigenous ethics and the natural world, and to modern human frailty and ingenuity.”

As with Esmerine’s previous albums, Jace Lasek took on production duties, and again contributes as a featured guest, as does Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s violinist Sophie Trudeau, amongst others.

Mechanics Of Dominion marks their sixth album release, and is due out on October 20th through Constellation. Luckily, we can already wrap our ears around two magnificent and compelling tracks from the record, the closing track ‘Piscibus Maris’ and the opener ‘The Space In Between’. Both are laced together in a befitting video made by Brad Todd.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No HTML but links are fine.