Mixtape #112

March is upon us and what better way to set the mood than with our monthly mixtape, this time round kindly curated by the amazingly talented drummer and composer Anton Eger. Whether you know his work with Phronesis or Marius Neset, or his many collaborations with artists like Django Bates, Daniel Heløy Davidsen or Ivo Neame, Eger is one of the most extraordinary drummers around. His eponymous debut album, Æ, released last year, has completely enthralled and enraptured us, merging retro influences with electronica and contemporary beats. Showcasing his incredible creativity and technical virtuosity, it's no surprise Æ made it our Album Picks of the Year. Needless to say, we're ecstatic to unveil his mix. Enjoy!

  1. Arcade Fire – The Suburbs [Merge Records / City Slang]
  2. Minnie Riperton – Les Fleurs [Stateside]
  3. Ivy Sole – Backwoods ft. Anyee Wright
  4. BADBADNOTGOOD & Little Dragon – Tried [Ninja Tune]
  5. Mono/Poly – Ra Rise [Brainfeeder]
  6. Sixtus Preiss – Lololo [Affine Records]
  7. Dimlite – Pour Some Blood, We Got This [Now-Again Records]
  8. Nas – Halftime [Columbia]
  9. Frank Ocean – Nikes [Boys Don't Cry / XL Recordings]
  10. Jameszoo – Mrm Aid S [Rwina Records]
  11. Kanye West – Runaway ft. Pusha T [Roc-A-Fella Records]
  12. Travis Scott – Sicko Mode [Epic]
  13. Photek – The Hidden Camera [Science]
  14. Slowdive – Sugar for the Pill [Dead Oceans]
  15. Little Dragon – Twice [Peacefrof Records]

Anton Eger’s debut album Æ out next month

Extraordinary Norwegian/Swedish drummer Anton Eger is no stranger in the jazz world. Best known as a third of Phronesis, Eger has also spent the last decade playing and collaborating with artists like Django Bates, Marius Neset, Daniel Heløy Davidsen and Ivo Neame.

Eger has announced the first album release under his own name, fittingly titled after his own initials, Æ. The album arrives on February 8th through Edition Records and saw him enlist an all-star lineup of musicians, including Matt Calvert, Dan Nicholls, Robin Mullarkey, and many more.

To get us excited, we can already stream two phenomenal tracks off it, ‘Sugaruzd +​+​+ pT’ and ‘HERb +++ gA’, the latter with an accompanying video directed by Troelz Schmidt.