Mixtape #139

A seasoned musician with a background in drumming, and membership in rock and pop groups, Antoine Pasqualini began releasing music under his Monolithe Noir moniker in 2013, coinciding with his love for modular synths. The project gives him freedom to push himsef further into uncharted territory and bridge his influences across prog, ambient, electronica, folk, and Italian library music. Later this month he is releasing his third full-length studio album, Rin, a cosmically entrancing and groovy record brought to life as trio. We couldn’t be more stoked to kick off the month with a rad mixtape put together by Antoine. Tune in and zone out.

  1. Slowdive – Rutti [Creation Records]
  2. Roxane Métayer – Mille Pics [Morc Records]
  3. s t a r g a z e*, Greg Saunier – Returning the Screw [Transgressive Records]
  4. Ka Baird – Teaching Lodge of the Arrows [Rvng Intl.]
  5. Rémy Couvez – Dans le Désert
  6. Accident du Travail – La Boule [bruit direct disques]
  7. Roxane Métayer – Plus Brume, Que Lune [Morc Records]
  8. Green Ribbons – The Well Below The Valley [Matière Mémoire]
  9. Thomas De Pourquery & Supersonic – Love in Outer Space [Quark Records]
  10. Monolithe Noir – Balafenn [Capitane Records]
  11. June Chikuma – Broadcast Profanity Delay [Freedom To Spend]
  12. Roméo Poirier – Sarakiniko [Kit Records]

Mixtape #112

March is upon us and what better way to set the mood than with our monthly mixtape, this time round kindly curated by the amazingly talented drummer and composer Anton Eger. Whether you know his work with Phronesis or Marius Neset, or his many collaborations with artists like Django Bates, Daniel Heløy Davidsen or Ivo Neame, Eger is one of the most extraordinary drummers around. His eponymous debut album, Æ, released last year, has completely enthralled and enraptured us, merging retro influences with electronica and contemporary beats. Showcasing his incredible creativity and technical virtuosity, it's no surprise Æ made it our Album Picks of the Year. Needless to say, we're ecstatic to unveil his mix. Enjoy!

  1. Arcade Fire – The Suburbs [Merge Records / City Slang]
  2. Minnie Riperton – Les Fleurs [Stateside]
  3. Ivy Sole – Backwoods ft. Anyee Wright
  4. BADBADNOTGOOD & Little Dragon – Tried [Ninja Tune]
  5. Mono/Poly – Ra Rise [Brainfeeder]
  6. Sixtus Preiss – Lololo [Affine Records]
  7. Dimlite – Pour Some Blood, We Got This [Now-Again Records]
  8. Nas – Halftime [Columbia]
  9. Frank Ocean – Nikes [Boys Don't Cry / XL Recordings]
  10. Jameszoo – Mrm Aid S [Rwina Records]
  11. Kanye West – Runaway ft. Pusha T [Roc-A-Fella Records]
  12. Travis Scott – Sicko Mode [Epic]
  13. Photek – The Hidden Camera [Science]
  14. Slowdive – Sugar for the Pill [Dead Oceans]
  15. Little Dragon – Twice [Peacefrof Records]

Mixtape #94

With April comes a superb mixtape lovingly put together by wonderful and prolific Greek composer, electronic musician and producer Serafim Tsotsonis. With an immense portfolio spanning four albums and compositions and collaborations in the worlds of film, television, and theatre, his influences are vast, flirting with genres from neo-classical and ambient to post-rock and dream pop. You'll find a bit of all of this and more in his mix so press play and enjoy!

  1. Fennesz – The Point of It All [Touch]
  2. Demen – Mea [Kranky]
  3. Brian Eno & Harold Budd – Still Return [Virgin Records]
  4. Jon Hassell & Ry Cooder – Nature Boy [Water Lily Acoustics]
  5. Ocean Hope -Tame [Hush Hush]
  6. Boards Of Canada – One Very Important Thought [Warp]
  7. Weyes Blood – In the Beginning [Mexican Summer]
  8. Ryuichi Sakamoto – andata (Oneohtrix Point Never Rework) [Milan Music]
  9. Efterklang – The Living Layer [4AD]
  10. Bibio – Kaini Industries (Original By Boards of Canada) [Warp]
  11. Slowdive – Don’t Know Why [Dead Oceans]
  12. Alfred Schnittke – II
  13. Robin Guthrie and Harold Budd – Outside, Silence [Soleil Apres Minuit]
  14. Anna Calvi – The Bridge [Domino]
  15. Preoccupations – Disarray [Jagjaguwar]
  16. Peter Broderick – Carried [Erased Tapes Records]
  17. Insecure Men – Ulster [Fat Possum Records]
  18. Johann Johannsson – Melodia (i) [4AD]
  19. Christina Vantzou – Vhs [Kranky]
  20. Manos Hadjidakis – To Vals Ton Hamenon Oniron

Members of Mogwai, Slowdive and Editors form Minor Victories, announce debut album

Minor Victories - A Hundred RopesThere’s a new supergroup on the block comprising Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite, Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell, Editors’ Justin Lockey and his brother James. Under the name Minor Victories, the four-piece will be releasing their eponymous debut album on June 3rd via Fat Possum Records. Initially formed as the solo project of Justin “to create an extreme noise EP topped off by a delicate female vocals”, Minor Victories turned into a collaboration with the four members creating and sharing ideas and music back and forth from different places. “The freedom and immediacy in this exchanging of ideas – plus the fact that all four members have barely spent any time together recording or writing – only adds to the heart of the project”, explains the press release. “This unusual process, combined with the members’ wide spectrum of musical tastes converging, ultimately led to something beyond the original vision of any of the contributors that pushes new boundaries and new sounds into uncharted waters”.
Ahead of the album’s release, Minor Victories have shared the first single ‘A Hundred Ropes’. The track comes with a video filmed by the Lockey brothers’ Hand Held Cine Club. Here it is.