Serafim Tsotsonis’ I Am the Sum of my Parts EP out now

We hadn’t kept up with the latest offering from Serafim Tsotsonis but we were clearly missing out. I Am the Sum of my Parts, a 6-track EP released last May, is the most recent work from the wonderful and prolific Greek composer, electronic musician and producer. A beautifully crafted EP, I Am the Sum of my Parts takes cues from neo-classical, ambient, drone, post-rock and modern electronic sounds and finds Tsotsonis showcasing his songwriting and multi-instrumental talents playing and manipulating nearly all the instruments featured on the EP. The pieces feel intimate and cinematic, enveloped by serenity with eerie undertones. Swaying from light to dark, the EP contains multitudes and is at once daring and fragile, blissful and ominous.

I Am the Sum of My Parts “conveys messages through an idiolect, carrying the gifts of an inner, secret world”, as the EP’s accompanying blurb describes. “Pieces that sound like delicate, precious, colorful tissues fluttering in the wind.. Inspiration, innerness, elegance, artistry. Profound music goes hand in hand with poetry..”

For a taster of the EP, listen to the compelling ‘Vesper’ below and let yourself drift away.

Mixtape #94

With April comes a superb mixtape lovingly put together by wonderful and prolific Greek composer, electronic musician and producer Serafim Tsotsonis. With an immense portfolio spanning four albums and compositions and collaborations in the worlds of film, television, and theatre, his influences are vast, flirting with genres from neo-classical and ambient to post-rock and dream pop. You'll find a bit of all of this and more in his mix so press play and enjoy!

  1. Fennesz – The Point of It All [Touch]
  2. Demen – Mea [Kranky]
  3. Brian Eno & Harold Budd – Still Return [Virgin Records]
  4. Jon Hassell & Ry Cooder – Nature Boy [Water Lily Acoustics]
  5. Ocean Hope -Tame [Hush Hush]
  6. Boards Of Canada – One Very Important Thought [Warp]
  7. Weyes Blood – In the Beginning [Mexican Summer]
  8. Ryuichi Sakamoto – andata (Oneohtrix Point Never Rework) [Milan Music]
  9. Efterklang – The Living Layer [4AD]
  10. Bibio – Kaini Industries (Original By Boards of Canada) [Warp]
  11. Slowdive – Don’t Know Why [Dead Oceans]
  12. Alfred Schnittke – II
  13. Robin Guthrie and Harold Budd – Outside, Silence [Soleil Apres Minuit]
  14. Anna Calvi – The Bridge [Domino]
  15. Preoccupations – Disarray [Jagjaguwar]
  16. Peter Broderick – Carried [Erased Tapes Records]
  17. Insecure Men – Ulster [Fat Possum Records]
  18. Johann Johannsson – Melodia (i) [4AD]
  19. Christina Vantzou – Vhs [Kranky]
  20. Manos Hadjidakis – To Vals Ton Hamenon Oniron

Serafim Tsotsonis set to release fourth album She Swims

Serafim Tsotsonis - She Swims2017 may be just around the corner but our ears remain tuned to the sounds of 2016. And with good reason, with incredible albums still slated to drop before the end of the year. One we’re eagerly waiting to hear is the new full-length from Serafim Tsotsonis, She Swims, arriving on December 9th through Hush Hush Records. The new effort from the Greek composer, electronic musician, and producer “is marked by a collection of instrumental-heavy compositions that confidently display his cinematic and evocative blend of neo-classical, ambient electronics, post-rock, and dream-pop styles”, as the press release describes.
Tsotsonis had previously unveiled ‘Cold Naive’ as the first taster from the album and he’s following it with the glorious and dramatic track ‘Imaginary Friends’. Listen to both below.