Mixtape #127

We´re thrilled to start June with a marvellous mixtape by master vibraphonist, multi-percussionist, and composer Masayoshi Fujita. Whether you know his acoustic solo recordings, his electronic dub releases as El Fog, or his experimental improvisations with the likes of Jan Jelinek, Masayoshi's incredible creativity and technical virtuosity is always on display. Last week he released one of the most beautiful and beguiling records of the year, Bird Ambience, where he explores a new sonic direction that merges his various influences and turns the spotlight on the marimba. The mixtape he lovingly put together for CTD is a whole universe to get lost in, so press play to take a peek into his musical world.

  1. Wunder – Look Out For Yourself [Karaoke Kalk]
  2. Samadha Trio – Amidha [Hefty Records]
  3. Fennesz – Endless Summer [P-Vine Records / Mego]
  4. Bill Evans – Blue in Green [Columbia]
  5. Maurice Ravel – Pavane Pour Une Infante Défunte [Opera / Pantheon]
  6. De La Soul – Pease Porridge [Tommy Boy]
  7. Bobby Hutcherson – Montara [Blue Note]
  8. Ryan Francesconi – Parables [Sweet Dreams]
  9. Brian Eno – 1/1 [Polydor / EG]
  10. DJ Krush – Song 1 [SMEJ]
  11. Silent Poets featuring Anomolies – Someday (The First Impact Mix) [Yellow Productions]
  12. Farben – Cycled (ARR) [WMF Records]
  13. Carmen McRae – When I Fall in Love [Kapp Records]

Mixtape #98

London based prolific multi-instrumentalist and producer Capitol K has become something of a legend, releasing influential and iconic albums for over two decades. After working with labels big and small he set up his own, Faith & Industry, and thrives on collaborations, touring the world playing with various bands and recording and producing too many incredible musicians to mention here. And he shows no signs of slowing down. Last month Capitol K released the wonderful and shimmering Goatherder, his new album recorded in a cave on his native Malta. Needless to say we’re very excited to present the mixtape he did for us this month, so wrap your ears around it without delay!

  1. Ambitious Lovers – Locus Coeruleus [E.G. Records]
  2. Os Mulheres Negras – Só Quero Um Xodó [WEA]
  3. LAPS – Who Me? [MIC]
  4. Deena Abdelwahed – Ena Essbab [Infiné]
  5. Omar S feat Nite Jewel – Confess To You [ FXHE Records]
  6. Patti Palladin & Johnny Thunders – Crawfish [Jungle Records]
  7. Bas Jan – Walton On The Naze [Lost Map Records]
  8. John Johanna – I’ll Be Ready When The Great Day Comes [Faith And Industry]
  9. Saz’iso – Tana [Glitterbeat]
  10. Laibach – Opus Dei (Life is Life) [Mute]
  11. Psychic TV – Untitled (Ov Power}
  12. Super Best Friends Club – Beetroot [Faith And Industry]
  13. Fennesz – Shisheido [Mego]
  14. Lee Gamble – A tergo Real [Hyperdub]
  15. Guaraní

Mixtape #94

With April comes a superb mixtape lovingly put together by wonderful and prolific Greek composer, electronic musician and producer Serafim Tsotsonis. With an immense portfolio spanning four albums and compositions and collaborations in the worlds of film, television, and theatre, his influences are vast, flirting with genres from neo-classical and ambient to post-rock and dream pop. You'll find a bit of all of this and more in his mix so press play and enjoy!

  1. Fennesz – The Point of It All [Touch]
  2. Demen – Mea [Kranky]
  3. Brian Eno & Harold Budd – Still Return [Virgin Records]
  4. Jon Hassell & Ry Cooder – Nature Boy [Water Lily Acoustics]
  5. Ocean Hope -Tame [Hush Hush]
  6. Boards Of Canada – One Very Important Thought [Warp]
  7. Weyes Blood – In the Beginning [Mexican Summer]
  8. Ryuichi Sakamoto – andata (Oneohtrix Point Never Rework) [Milan Music]
  9. Efterklang – The Living Layer [4AD]
  10. Bibio – Kaini Industries (Original By Boards of Canada) [Warp]
  11. Slowdive – Don’t Know Why [Dead Oceans]
  12. Alfred Schnittke – II
  13. Robin Guthrie and Harold Budd – Outside, Silence [Soleil Apres Minuit]
  14. Anna Calvi – The Bridge [Domino]
  15. Preoccupations – Disarray [Jagjaguwar]
  16. Peter Broderick – Carried [Erased Tapes Records]
  17. Insecure Men – Ulster [Fat Possum Records]
  18. Johann Johannsson – Melodia (i) [4AD]
  19. Christina Vantzou – Vhs [Kranky]
  20. Manos Hadjidakis – To Vals Ton Hamenon Oniron

King Midas Sound announce collaborative album with Fennesz

King Midas Sound and Fennesz - Edition 1

Waiting For You, the debut album from King Midas Sound, came out six years ago. The trio, made up of Kevin Martin aka The Bug, singer and poet Roger Robinson, and singer Kiki Hitomi, have announced their second album, part of a series of collaborative releases. Edition 1 will be the first of four albums, each featuring a different guest artist, “to explore the deepest realms where dub, electronic music, hip/trip-hop and shoegaze meet”. Austrian guitarist and electronic musician Fennesz joined forces with King Midas Sound on the first collaboration, due out on September 18th via Ninja Tune. As the press release explains, Fennesz’s “2001 album Endless Summer was a mix of tonal guitars and emotional shifts which inspired and sparked an admiration within Kevin and Roger to bring him onboard.”.

‘Waves’ is the first track to emerge from the upcoming Edition 1 and you can listen to it below.

King Midas Sound and Fennesz have announced a number of European dates this Autumn, including a show in London at St John at Hackney on October 30th.

Mixtape #51

June is upon us, and with a new month comes a very special batch of tunes picked by one of our favourite bands, Piano Interrupted. The London based duo-turned-quartet enticed us with their lush cinematic soundscapes blending beguilingly classical arrangements and electronics. They spontaneously brought an interesting twist to our mixtape by presenting the tracks in a chronological order, from the oldest to the most recent. So strap yourself in for a journey through time and music.