Mixtape #138

Staggeringly talented British composer and pianist Tom Rogerson has been a longtime favourite of ours. A prolific classically trained musician and gifted improviser as well as a key player in the London experimental/improv scene, he has worked in multiple musical formations for many years, including Three Trapped Tigers. In 2017 Rogerson released Finding Shore, a collaboration with Brian Eno which made it to our Album Picks of that year and followed it up earlier this year with his first solo album, Retreat to Bliss. A peaceful, masterful and mesmerizing album, written and recorded in his native Suffolk, it reflects a series of life changes. Needless to say, we’re over the moon to have him curating this month’s utterly sublime mixtape which opens a window onto the influences at play in his new record.


  1. Caterina Barbieri – Information Needed To Create An Entire Body [Important Records]
  2. Mother Mallard’s Portable Masterpiece Co. – Ceres Motion [Cuneiform Records]
  3. Irena & Vojtěch Havlovi – Růženka [Melody As Truth]
  4. Mark Pritchard – The Arched Window [Warp]
  5. Kathryn Joseph – The Why What, Baby? [Hits The Fan Records]
  6. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Joy [Mexican Summer]
  7. Toumani Diabaté – Cantelowes [Nonesuch / World Circuit]
  8. William Basinski – The Deluge [2062]
  9. Claude Debussy – La Cathédrale Engloutie (performed by Aldo Ciccolini) [Universal]
  10. Autechre – Yulquen [Warp]
  11. Keith Tippett – I love you, Julie [FMP]
  12. Richard Youngs – The World is Silence in Your Head [Jagjaguwar]

Mixtape #123

We love Nightports’ sublime music. The inventive duo of British musicians and producers Adam Martin and Mark Slater approach their different projects with sets of pre-defined rules. Their recent EP, Wat Chedi Luang, was created using recordings from a unique day and place. Similarly, for their two previous albums, they only used sounds produced by a featured musician, discovering varied ways to explore and rework the artist’s music. Following their 2018 collaboration with Matthew Bourne, last year’s dazzling sonic collaboration, Nightports w/ Betamax, made it to our favourite Albums of 2020 and we simply can’t put it down. So we’re delighted they stitched together this phenomenal mix for us. Dig in!

  1. Anna Meredith – Calion [Moshi Moshi] 0:00
  2. Eli Keszler – Measurement Doesn’t Change the System At All [Shelter Press] 4:30
  3. Floating Points – Anasickmodular [Ninja Tune] 8:03
  4. Beatrice Dillon – Workaround One [Pan (3)] 11:10
  5. Laurence Pike – Rapture [The Leaf Label] 14:29
  6. TOMAGA – Squeek and Chatter [Negative Days] 18:06
  7. Leafcutter John – Pillar [Border Community] 22:35
  8. Sebastian Rochford & Pamelia Kurstin – Ouch [i] [Slowfoot] 27:28
  9. MRR-ADM – 2wo 31:35
  10. Autechre – esc desc [Warp] 33:46
  11. A Winged Victory for the Sullen – The Rhythm Of A Dividing Pair [Ninja Tune] 38:27
  12. No. 3 – No. 3 42:34
  13. Ametsub – Snowy Lava [Progressive Form / Third Ear] 50:30
  14. Domenique Dumont – People on Sunday [The Leaf Label] 54:42

Mixtape #115

Sourcing musical inspiration from far corners of the globe, Dijf Sanders creates rich compositions that embrace various cultures and genres. For his recent album, the ecstatic and exotic Puja, the Ghent based multi-instrumentalist and composer travelled to Nepal to absorb its sounds and compile field recordings. We asked him to put together this month's mixtape and we’re excited to unveil the splendid selection of tunes he picked and mixed for us. Press play and enjoy!

  1. Alice Coltrane – Journey in Satchidananda (feat. Pharoah Sanders) [UMG Recordings, Inc.]
  2. The Raincoats – Dancing in My Head [Rough Trade]
  3. Eden Ahbez – Eden’s Island [Del-Fi Records]
  4. Autechre – Pir [Warp]
  5. Moondog – Duet [Master Series, Inc.]
  6. Aphex Twin – Acrid Avid Jam Shred [Warp]
  7. Nuova Compagnia Di Canto Popolare – 2o Coro Delle Lavandaie [EMI]
  8. Squarepusher – Tommib [Warp]
  9. Köhn ‎- Goodbye Pluto [(K-RAA-K)³]
  10. Boards of Canada – Sixtyten [Warp]
  11. Beck – Blackhole [Geffen]
  12. Tarawangsawelas – Selalu [Morphine Records]
  13. James Holden – Renata [Border Community]
  14. Plastikman – Contain [NovaMute]
  15. Jean-Michel Jarre – Wooloomooloo [Disques Dreyfus / Polydor]

Mixtape #51

June is upon us, and with a new month comes a very special batch of tunes picked by one of our favourite bands, Piano Interrupted. The London based duo-turned-quartet enticed us with their lush cinematic soundscapes blending beguilingly classical arrangements and electronics. They spontaneously brought an interesting twist to our mixtape by presenting the tracks in a chronological order, from the oldest to the most recent. So strap yourself in for a journey through time and music.