Mixtape #138

Staggeringly talented British composer and pianist Tom Rogerson has been a longtime favourite of ours. A prolific classically trained musician and gifted improviser as well as a key player in the London experimental/improv scene, he has worked in multiple musical formations for many years, including Three Trapped Tigers. In 2017 Rogerson released Finding Shore, a collaboration with Brian Eno which made it to our Album Picks of that year and followed it up earlier this year with his first solo album, Retreat to Bliss. A peaceful, masterful and mesmerizing album, written and recorded in his native Suffolk, it reflects a series of life changes. Needless to say, we’re over the moon to have him curating this month’s utterly sublime mixtape which opens a window onto the influences at play in his new record.


  1. Caterina Barbieri – Information Needed To Create An Entire Body [Important Records]
  2. Mother Mallard’s Portable Masterpiece Co. – Ceres Motion [Cuneiform Records]
  3. Irena & Vojtěch Havlovi – Růženka [Melody As Truth]
  4. Mark Pritchard – The Arched Window [Warp]
  5. Kathryn Joseph – The Why What, Baby? [Hits The Fan Records]
  6. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Joy [Mexican Summer]
  7. Toumani Diabaté – Cantelowes [Nonesuch / World Circuit]
  8. William Basinski – The Deluge [2062]
  9. Claude Debussy – La Cathédrale Engloutie (performed by Aldo Ciccolini) [Universal]
  10. Autechre – Yulquen [Warp]
  11. Keith Tippett – I love you, Julie [FMP]
  12. Richard Youngs – The World is Silence in Your Head [Jagjaguwar]

Tom Rogerson shares final single, ‘Toumani’, ahead of album release

Tom Rogerson has been teasing his upcoming solo album, Retreat to Bliss, since its announcement in January with two singles, the celestial ‘Chant’ and the poignant and sublime ‘Oath’. With the album release looming, the staggeringly talented composer and pianist is offering up a final taste from the album in the shape of new single ‘Toumani’, a gentle and emotive song inspired by Malian Kora player Toumani Diabaté. Listen to it below and grab the album when it’s out on March 25th through Western Vinyl.

Tom Rogerson releases second single, ‘Chant’, from upcoming album Retreat to Bliss

Tom Rogerson‘s much anticipated solo album, Retreat to Bliss, will see the light of day in just over a month. Following the poignant and sublime first single, ‘Oath’, the staggeringly talented British composer and pianist has shared a new celestial track from his forthcoming album called ‘Chant’. Speaking about the track, Rogerson remarks:

“With this song, I’d made a conscious decision to write as minimally and simply as I could, after years of making lots of loud and complicated music. This was the first song with words I wrote, in an effort to express a lot of things that had been on my mind for some time but had lain unexplored. I deliberately left myself nowhere to hide, and for that reason I didn’t expect to record it, or release it, until I started performing it live in the middle of long improvised piano sets, where it seemed to make sense.”

Listen to ‘Oath’ below.

Retreat to Bliss is out on March 25th through Western Vinyl.

Tom Rogerson announces debut solo album, Retreat To Bliss

A longtime favourite of ours, Tom Rogerson released in 2017 one of our Album Picks of the Year, Finding Shore, a record done in collaboration with Brian Eno. Four years on, the staggeringly talented British composer and pianist has announced his much anticipated solo album. Entitled Retreat to Bliss, the record was written in his native Suffolk and follows and reflects a number of affecting changes in his life. He explains:

“The last few years have brought some struggle, some joy, and a lot of change. My response has been to retreat to what I trust the most: the piano, my voice, and the landscape I grew up in. That’s how the album got its title, and how I came to be ready finally to release a solo record.”

Ahead of the album’s release on March 25th through Western Vinyl, Rogerson is enticing us with ‘Oath’, the first poignant and sublime single. Rogerson offered some insight into it:

“I was in the middle of a few months where lots of big life events were happening and I wrote lots of things very quickly, having spent years struggling to do anything at all. It was the first sustained period of working by myself with no one else to bounce ideas off, and I instinctively started singing a bit more seriously – I even started using a vocal mic! The whole thing including lyrics was new for me but felt like a necessary response to the mood I was in.”

Now wrap your ears around ‘Oath’.

Watch the live video for new single ‘March Away’ from Tom Rogerson with Brian Eno’s upcoming album

We’re only a week away from the release of Finding Shore, the debut album from Tom Rogerson in collaboration with Brian Eno. Following the beautiful and delicate ‘Motion in Field’, and the sublime album opener ‘Idea of Order at Kyson Point’, the composer and pianist has unveiled a brand new song, ‘March Away’, in a glorious live version shot at Theaterhaus Berlin Mitte.

In celebration of the album release, Tom Rogerson is peforming at London’s St Pancras Old Church on Monday December 4th.