Mixtape #115

Sourcing musical inspiration from far corners of the globe, Dijf Sanders creates rich compositions that embrace various cultures and genres. For his recent album, the ecstatic and exotic Puja, the Ghent based multi-instrumentalist and composer travelled to Nepal to absorb its sounds and compile field recordings. We asked him to put together this month's mixtape and we’re excited to unveil the splendid selection of tunes he picked and mixed for us. Press play and enjoy!

  1. Alice Coltrane – Journey in Satchidananda (feat. Pharoah Sanders) [UMG Recordings, Inc.]
  2. The Raincoats – Dancing in My Head [Rough Trade]
  3. Eden Ahbez – Eden’s Island [Del-Fi Records]
  4. Autechre – Pir [Warp]
  5. Moondog – Duet [Master Series, Inc.]
  6. Aphex Twin – Acrid Avid Jam Shred [Warp]
  7. Nuova Compagnia Di Canto Popolare – 2o Coro Delle Lavandaie [EMI]
  8. Squarepusher – Tommib [Warp]
  9. Köhn ‎- Goodbye Pluto [(K-RAA-K)³]
  10. Boards of Canada – Sixtyten [Warp]
  11. Beck – Blackhole [Geffen]
  12. Tarawangsawelas – Selalu [Morphine Records]
  13. James Holden – Renata [Border Community]
  14. Plastikman – Contain [NovaMute]
  15. Jean-Michel Jarre – Wooloomooloo [Disques Dreyfus / Polydor]

Mixtape #99

A man of many talents, composer, producer and multi-instrumentalist Matt Calvert has been dazzling us for more than a decade with his trio Three Trapped Tigers and other projects and collaborations. Typewritten is his first solo outing, an all acoustic, electronic-inspired album out on October 12th. And we’re ecstatic to unveil this treat of a mixtape he put together for us this month.  

"I’ve made a mix of different acoustic music, keeping with the theme of my own album Typewritten.  There’s obviously too much amazing acoustic stuff to choose from - especially when I think of all the classical and jazz stuff I love - so I’ve included tracks that influenced that record (not tons, since most of the influences were electronic!), some cuts from the album itself, and other things I’ve either just discovered or always loved that maybe others are yet to stumble across.” - Matt Calvert

  1. Square Peg Round Hole – No.8 from Postludes for Bowed Vibraphone (by Elliot Cole)
  2. Lucia Cadotsch – Slow Hot Wind [Yellowbird]
  3. Claudia Quintet – Just Like Him [Cuneiform Records]
  4. Matt Calvert – 12051 [Truant]
  5. Julian Sartorius – Basel – Kleinlützel [Everest Records]
  6. Boris Berman – Sonata V (by John Cage) [Naxos]
  7. Dawn of Midi – Ymir [Erased Tapes]
  8. Matt Calvert – Ren [Truant]
  9. Final Fantasy – Song Song Song [Tomlab]
  10. Matt Calvert – Nothing to Envy [Truant]
  11. Alarm Will Sound – Gwely Mernans (Aphex Twin cover) [Cantaloupe Music]
  12. Kit Downes – Rings of Saturn [ECM Records]
  13. The Silk Road Ensemble – Playlist For An Extreme Occasion: Part One [Masterworks]
  14. Lewis Wright – Fire & Flow [Signum Records]
  15. Loney Dear – Durmoll [Polyvinyl / Something In Construction]
  16. Punch Brothers – All Ashore [Nonesuch]
  17. Ana Silvera – Pearls and Thieves [Gearbox]
  18. John McLaughlin – Follow Your Heart [Douglas]
  19. Aldo Ciccolini – Avant-dernières pensées: No 1. Idylle [EMI]
  20. Beck – Ramshackle [Geffen]

Beck previews lead single from upcoming album Morning Phase

Beck - Morning Phase

In less than a month, and nearly six years after the release of Modern Guilt, the long-awaited new studio album from Beck, Morning Phase, is finally coming out. The album drops on February 24th in the UK/Europe and a day later in North America via Capitol Records.
Beck turned us on last year with the release of three one-off summer singles, ‘Defriended’, ‘I Won’t Be Long’ and ‘Gimme’. His music is impossible to categorise, with him being one of the most versatile musicians out there, constantly exploring countless genres and sounds. The upcoming Morning Phase is reportedly reminiscent of his melancholic album Sea Change and the recently debuted lead single ‘Blue Moon’ serves as a great taste of the wonderful and lush compositions in store for us.

Beck unleashes brand new single ‘Gimme’

Beck - Gimme

Knock yourself out with the brand new single from Beck called ‘Gimme’. It follows two previous one-off summer singles, ‘Defriended’ and ‘I Won’t Be Long’.
As we had previously mentioned, Beck is releasing two albums later this year, first an acoustic one reminiscent of his 1994′s One Foot in the Grave and a second album which will be the proper follow-up to Modern Guilt. None of these singles will be included in the upcoming albums but if they are anything to go by, we’re in for one hell of a treat.
A limited edition double 12″ of the track is now available to order on Beck’s website. Other than the original cut, this release features an instrumental version, and extended-length edit and two halves of a 30-minute extended mix of the track.

Mixtape #41

We've fallen for Winnipeg's six-piece ensemble Royal Canoe and their unique rhythm, joyful tunes and energetic live performance a long time ago. So we've asked them to soundtrack the month of August for us, and befittingly, they came up with a summery feast. Swooping from Jurassic 5 to Al Green, through 16 tracks filled with nothing but the best genre hopping sounds, this mixtape will get you grooving in the sunshine.


Beck releases brand new single ‘Defriended’

Beck - Defriended

Five years on since he dropped 2008’s Modern Guilt, Beck is back with not one but two new albums. Well, Beck did release an album last year, Song Reader, published by McSweeney’s and featuring twenty new tracks. Sadly it was mostly for the pleasure of those who can read music, as it came out solely in the shape of a sheet-music collection. First this autumn Beck will release an acoustic album reminiscent of his 1994’s One Foot in the Grave and he has also announced the release of a second album which will be the proper follow-up to Modern Guilt. Both albums will be released independently.
The man has recently shared an awesome synthy new single, ‘Defriended’, which will not be included in his forthcoming album, but it will whet everyone’s appetite. The single is available on 12” vinyl exclusively on his website, and it comes with a 14-minute extended B-side version. You’ll want it after you hear the original mix below.