Matt Calvert shares live video for ‘Mute Heart’

We’re getting excitingly close to the release of Typewritten, the debut solo album from Matt Calvert. The talented composer, producer and multi-instrumentalist first enticed us with the immensely beautiful ‘12051‘, followed by the intricately stunning and delicate second single ‘Mute Heart’, which has been paired with an accompanying video directed by Josh Renaut / child. Watch it below and grab the album when it drops on October 12th through Truant.

Calvert put together a wonderful all acoustic mixtape for us this month featuring a couple of unreleased tracks from Typewritten. If you haven’t yet, go listen to it now.

Mixtape #99

A man of many talents, composer, producer and multi-instrumentalist Matt Calvert has been dazzling us for more than a decade with his trio Three Trapped Tigers and other projects and collaborations. Typewritten is his first solo outing, an all acoustic, electronic-inspired album out on October 12th. And we’re ecstatic to unveil this treat of a mixtape he put together for us this month.  

"I’ve made a mix of different acoustic music, keeping with the theme of my own album Typewritten.  There’s obviously too much amazing acoustic stuff to choose from - especially when I think of all the classical and jazz stuff I love - so I’ve included tracks that influenced that record (not tons, since most of the influences were electronic!), some cuts from the album itself, and other things I’ve either just discovered or always loved that maybe others are yet to stumble across.” - Matt Calvert

  1. Square Peg Round Hole – No.8 from Postludes for Bowed Vibraphone (by Elliot Cole)
  2. Lucia Cadotsch – Slow Hot Wind [Yellowbird]
  3. Claudia Quintet – Just Like Him [Cuneiform Records]
  4. Matt Calvert – 12051 [Truant]
  5. Julian Sartorius – Basel – Kleinlützel [Everest Records]
  6. Boris Berman – Sonata V (by John Cage) [Naxos]
  7. Dawn of Midi – Ymir [Erased Tapes]
  8. Matt Calvert – Ren [Truant]
  9. Final Fantasy – Song Song Song [Tomlab]
  10. Matt Calvert – Nothing to Envy [Truant]
  11. Alarm Will Sound – Gwely Mernans (Aphex Twin cover) [Cantaloupe Music]
  12. Kit Downes – Rings of Saturn [ECM Records]
  13. The Silk Road Ensemble – Playlist For An Extreme Occasion: Part One [Masterworks]
  14. Lewis Wright – Fire & Flow [Signum Records]
  15. Loney Dear – Durmoll [Polyvinyl / Something In Construction]
  16. Punch Brothers – All Ashore [Nonesuch]
  17. Ana Silvera – Pearls and Thieves [Gearbox]
  18. John McLaughlin – Follow Your Heart [Douglas]
  19. Aldo Ciccolini – Avant-dernières pensées: No 1. Idylle [EMI]
  20. Beck – Ramshackle [Geffen]

Listen to Matt Calvert’s new single ‘Mute Heart’ off forthcoming debut solo record

Ahead of the imminent release of Typewritten, the debut solo album of acoustic compositions from accomplished producer and musician Matt Calvert, there’s very good reasons to be excited for this release. After sharing the immensely beautiful first single ‘12051‘, Calvert has now unveiled another intricately stunning and delicate song called ‘Mute Heart’. Here it is.

Typewritten is out on September 7th through Truant.

Three Trapped Tigers’ Matt Calvert announces debut album Typewritten

If you’ve been following CTD for a while, you’ll be no stranger to the mighty London based trio Three Trapped Tigers, and its incredibly talented members, Tom Rogerson, Adam Betts and Matt Calvert. Rogerson and Betts have both graced us with solo albums in the last couple of years and we’re excited to know composer, producer and multi-instrumentalist Matt Calvert has his debut solo record on the way. Entitled Typewritten, the album was “all performed, not programmed” by Calvert and a bunch of collaborators across several locations in Europe. Calvert had this to say about it:

“With both Typewritten and Three Trapped Tigers, the focus is on sound and the influence of electronic music on traditional instruments. Especially with all the percussive elements, here we asked what typically ‘electronic’ sounds can we recreate acoustically? Ultimately I wanted to find a sound distinct from what people typically imagine when the word ‘acoustic’ is mentioned, whether that is a jazz quartet, string quartet, a folk singer or various ‘world’ styles. Even where any of those might be an influence, like on S Waltz, which is almost chamber jazz, or Nothing to Envy, which has classical elements, I wanted to bring a freshness to them with some electronic-inspired touches, like imitating delay effects or making the tuned percussion sound like it had been chopped up in post-production.”

Typewritten arrives on September 7th trough Truant and we can already hear the stunning first single ‘12051’. Take a listen now.