Kimmo Pohjonen announces new album Sensitive Skin

Kimmo Pohjonen - Sensitive Skin

Maverick Finnish accordionist and composer Kimmo Pohjonen has announced the follow-up to Uniko, his 2011 collaborative album with Kronos Quartet and Samuli Kosminen. The new full-length, Sensitive Skin, arrives on September 25th in Europe and October 9th in the US via Ondine‘s sub-label Octopus.
With Sensitive Skin, Pohjonen continues to push boundaries, exploring and creating innovative and inimitable compositions. To bring the album to life, Pohjonen invited a stellar cast of guests to lend a hand including Kronos Quartet (string quartet), Tuomas Norvio (electronics), Samuli Kosminen (drums, percussion), Timo Kämäräinen (guitar, bouzouki), Sami Kuoppamäki (drums), Arto Järvelä (nyckelharpa), Inka and Saana Pohjonen (vocals), Ismo Alanko (vocals) and Lauri Porra (bass).

Here’s what Pohjonen said of Sensitive Skin:

“This is the first album where I had enough time to plan and record at a comfortable pace and in my own studio, allowing the music to emerge more organically and exactly as I wanted. Additionally, the vocal contributions by my daughters Inka and Saana were a big influence on the way the music and album were shaped, created and arranged. I am more than satisfied, even thrilled with the results.”

Ahead of the album’s release, Pohjonen has shared the first phenomenal taste in the form of ‘Cyclon’. We can’t wait to hear more.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No HTML but links are fine.