SFJAZZ Collective Celebrate 10th Anniversary with live retrospective album

SFJAZZ Collective - SFJAZZ Collective 10

San Francisco based collective SFJAZZ Collective have been performing and crafting marvellous jazz compositions for a decade now. Currently comprising alto saxophonist Miguel Zenón, tenor saxophonist David Sánchez, vibraphonist Warren Wolf, trumpeter Avishai Cohen, trombonist Robin Eubanks, pianist Edward Simon, bassist Matt Penman, and drummer Obed Calvaire, the collective are celebrating their tenth anniversary with a new album, SFJAZZ Collective: 10. The album, set to be released tomorrow, was recorded live during the SFJAZZ Collective’s four-night residency on the SFJAZZ Center’s Robert N. Miner Auditorium stage a year ago. Known for their unique approach to musical creation, that sees the eight members arrange a composition by a modern jazz master as well as writing new pieces each year, SFJAZZ Collective: 10 “highlights the best of the SFJAZZ Collective, from the fresh arrangements of the music of Herbie Hancock, Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk and Stevie Wonder, to their own stimulating compositions”, as the press release describes.
To get us enticed, SFJAZZ Collective have shared Eric Harland’s ‘Union’. Listen to it below.

Head over here to grab SFJAZZ Collective: 10.

One thought on “SFJAZZ Collective Celebrate 10th Anniversary with live retrospective album

  1. Pingback: SFJAZZ Collective announce eleventh album, tribute to Joe Henderson • CAST THE DICE

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published.

No HTML but links are fine.