Mixtape #145

Rosin de Palo are double bassist Samuel Azorín and drummer Mario Vidal, two incredible and adventurous musicians who have been shaking up the music scene in their native Spain and elsewhere. Classically trained, and drawing from wildly divergent genres such as funk, jazz, hard rock, dub, pop and electronica, Rosin de Palo’s music is wild, joyous, free, exhilarating and incredibly fun. The pair have earned a reputation for their scorching, visceral and powerful live performances. Last year they released their stellar debut, Lo que dura un recreo, which made it our Album Picks of 2022. So we're thrilled they put together this mix for us, unfurling nearly an hour of musical treats. Enjoy!

  1. Los Manises – La Encanta [Montgri]
  2. Mainline Magic Orchestra – Xumba Xumba [Public Possession]
  3. Playback Maracas – Las Palmas [El Segell Del Primavera]
  4. toe – Music For You [Machu Picchu Industrias / Topshelf Records]
  5. Battles – The Yabba [Warp]
  6. BADBADNOTGOOD – Lavender [Innovative Leisure Records]
  7. TNGHT – Clever Pants [Warp / LuckyMe]
  8. Compay Segundo – Lágrimas Negras [Gasa / Nonesuch]
  9. ZA! – Súbeme el Monitor [Gandula / Discorporate Records]
  10. Vampire Weekend – Finger Back [XL Recordings]
  11. Difícil Equilibrio – Reacción en Cadena [Difícil Records / Musea]
  12. Acácia Maior – Catá Borré [Tabanka Records]
  13. I Monster – Heaven [Dharma Records]

Mixtape #72

With a new month comes a new guest mixtape, this time from Brighton's quintet Calico. The band, a set of incredible musicians complementing each other perfectly, bring together an extensive range of musical genres to create a unique and exhilarating sound. Their intricate compositions incorporate elements of jazz, electronica, folk, math-rock and classical to name a few. And reflecting this healthy eclecticness, the mix they've compiled for us is a gift that keeps on giving, filled to the brim with incredible picks.


Battles unveil collaborative video for ‘Dot Net’

Battles - Dot Net

La Di Da Di, Battles‘s outstanding new album, came out last month, and they’re keeping us excited. The band have just unveiled a brilliant video for the album’s electrifying track ‘Dot Net’, directed by Ben Jones. The video is the first part of the Channel 4’s upcoming Random Acts series, consisting of collaborations between filmmakers and Warp artists. Due to be broadcast later in the year, the series also includes collaborations with Darkstar, Oneohtrix Point Never and Hudson Mohawke.

Here’s what Dave Konopka from Battles said about this collaboration:

“Ben Jones and I went Massachusetts College of Art together in the 90s and I’ve been a huge fan of his work as both a solo artist and a member of Paper Rad ever since.

When Channel Four approached us about a collaboration with a visual artist, Ben Jones immediately came to mind because I have always thought that there would be a great synthesis of Ben’s experimental animation and Battles’ technicolor sounds–a joining of two forms that I have been wanting to make happen for years.

As luck would have it, when I reached out to Ben to see if he would be interested in collaborating, he had just finished installing a new solo show of some outstanding new work, which is featured throughout the Dot Net video. Through his incorporation of a live-action gallery scene intercut with his authentically one-of-a-kind animation, Ben made a video for Dot Net that is one of my favorite Battles video collaborations and absolute joy to watch over and over again.”

Watch the video for ‘Dot Net’ below.

Battles realease video for ‘The Yabba’

Screenshot - 090915 - 16:11:53

Hot on the heels of the second single release, ‘FF Bada‘, last week, Battles just shared an accompanying video for the entrancing track ‘The Yabba‘, the first single off their upcoming album. Directed by Roger Guàrdia, the press release describes it as “a mesmerising study of the cyclical nature of order and chaos”. See for yourself below.

La Di Da Di is out on September 18th via Warp.

Listen to Battles’ new single ‘FF Bada’

Battles - FFBada

Last month Battles shared the monumental first single ‘The Yabba’, from their upcoming third album La Di Da Di. With just a couple of weeks to go until its release, anticipation is rising even more with ‘FF Bada’, another amazing track now available to stream. Listen to it now and watch out for the album release on September 18th via Warp.

Battles share first single ‘The Yabba’ from upcoming album La Di Da Di

Battles - The Yabba

We’re just a month away from the release of Battles third album, La Di Da Di. They gave fans a spectacular first glimpse of the new material earlier this month with a video featuring 4 new songs, recorded live in their rehearsal space in New York and directed by David Radboy. Battles have been a firm favourite of ours for a decade now and we’re thrilled to see they are back in full force as a trio.

Here’s the album’s accompanying blurb:

“As the name might imply, La Di Da Di is a mushrooming monolith of repetition. Here is an organic techno thrum of nearly infinite loops that refuse to remain consistent. The rhythmic genus of Battles is here as ever; full frontal, heightened and unforgiving – the gauntlet through which melody and harmony must pass, assailed at every turn.”

One of the tracks from their live session, the monumental opener ‘The Yabba’, is now being offered as the first single. Listen to it below and check out the live video straight after.

La Di Da Di is out on September 18th via Warp.