The Octopus Project announce sixth studio album Memory Mirror

The Octopus Project - Memory MirrorIt’s been a while since The Octopus Project released a full-length album and the good news is that is about to change. Comes April 7th, the Austin based experimental pop quartet will release their sixth studio album, Memory Mirror, via their own Robot High School label. The band enlisted Danny Reisch (Shearwater, White Denim) & Dave Fridmann (Tame Impala, Flaming Lips) for production duties and Greg Calbi (David Bowie, Talking Heads) for mastering duties on the new album.

April seems far away but we can already hear their first single ‘Wrong Gong’, exuding their usual fun and colour. Listen to it now.

Mixtape #50

To celebrate our fiftieth mixtape, we've turned to a band whose shows are like crazy birthday parties: The Octopus Project. The quartet, based in Austin, Texas, won us over a long time ago with their uniquely fun live shows and their exquisite, diverse and intricate compositions. We're very chuffed to present the splendid selection of tunes they've mixed for us. So loosen your tie, let down your hair and let's celebrate!


The Octopus Project’s ‘MMKIT’ soundtracks 48-hour animated video project

Austin Anijam 2014 - The Octopus Project "Mmkit"

The world of The Octopus Project is one where colour and fun always abound and the last project they got involved with, a 48-hour animation collaboration, resulted in a tremendous kaleidoscopic feast. Launched by the Austin Motion Artists Group, the project put together 14 teams of Austin based animation studios and freelancers to make an animated video for the Octopus Project song ‘MMKIT’, off last year’s excellent album Fever Forms.
Last Friday, and as the video release explains, “each team received a specific start keyframe, an end keyframe, an 11 second 4 bar phrase of a song from the latest The Octopus Project album and a guiding theme “The Ecstatic Energy of Geometry”. 48 hours later, they pieced the animations together to make one seamless 3-minute music video. Watch it now.

Fever Forms is out now via Peek-A-Boo Records.

The Octopus Project release third single off latest album Fever Forms

The Octopus Project - Fever Forms

Hot on the heels of their recently released fifth album, Fever Forms, Austin based experimental pop quartet The Octopus Project have dropped the third single ‘Perhap’.
With Fever Forms, which was recorded by themselves and co-mixed with Erik Wofford (Maserati, Black Angels, M. Ward), the band mirrors their distinct energetic and intense live performances more than in previous albums. As the press release notes, the new album “is most representative of the Octopus Project live experience – dense and euphoric, a concentrated dose of frenetic beats and exuberant melody set in a brilliantly colored sound world”.

Earlier this month, The Octopus Project kicked off a US tour in support of the new album, with several more dates scheduled throughout September. A European tour will follow, starting on October 7th at The Garage in London. Check all their stops and more info here.

To get you enticed, here’s ‘Perhap’. Enjoy.

Fever Forms is out now via Peek-A-Boo Records.

The Octopus Project announce new album and share first single and video

Austin based quartet The Octopus Project announced earlier today the release of their fourth full-length album, the follow-up to 2010’s Hexadecagon. The yet-to-be-titled record is due out early 2013 via Peek-A-Boo Records.

The foursome are teasing the forthcoming album with the first new single, ‘Whitby’ and an accompanying video for it.
The Whitby EP is now available digitally and it comes with two B-sides, an additional remix and even a karaoke version of ‘Whitby’. The package also features the music video for the single, entirely created, shot and directed by the band. Here it is.

6th Gamble

  1. The Octopus Project – Fuguefat
  2. ThoTho – Eol et Leo
  3. Music For Your Plants – Relax With Classics
  4. Akron/Family – So It Goes
  5. Zach Hill – Memo to the Man
  6. The Cocteau Twins – Lorelei
  7. Lido Pimienta – Mueve
  8. Botany – Waterparker
  9. Three Trapped Tigers – 2
  10. Crumbs – Pigeons Kissing
  11. Tom Waits – Get Behind the Mule
  12. Broadcast – Before We Begin
  13. Shogun Kunitoki – Montezuma
  14. Vowels – Two Wires
  15. Tennis – Marathon