Akron/Family announce new album and stream opening track

Akron / Family - No-Room

Akron/Family have announced the release of a new album, called Sub Verses. The record arrives on April 29th in the UK and a day later in the US via Dead Oceans.

“The album started with visions of large monumental sounds inspired by Heizer and Turrell; American works on a grand scale, monuments, dirty hands and an epic American masculinity. Dust, Stone, Sky, Earth.”, said guitarist Seth Olinsky in a statement about the forthcoming Sub Verses.
Bassist Miles Seaton also made a statement, and said that “as with other Akron/Family records the Idiomatic perspective shifts restlessly. From Shamanic hypno-mantras to Noise-damaged Soul anthems to North african street frenzy, from Droning Microtonal Balladry to modular synthesizer destruction to Lynchian Doo-Wop and back again.” Read their whole statements here.

Akron/Family have unveiled the album’s excellent opening track, ‘No-Room’. Here it is.

6th Gamble

  1. The Octopus Project – Fuguefat
  2. ThoTho – Eol et Leo
  3. Music For Your Plants – Relax With Classics
  4. Akron/Family – So It Goes
  5. Zach Hill – Memo to the Man
  6. The Cocteau Twins – Lorelei
  7. Lido Pimienta – Mueve
  8. Botany – Waterparker
  9. Three Trapped Tigers – 2
  10. Crumbs – Pigeons Kissing
  11. Tom Waits – Get Behind the Mule
  12. Broadcast – Before We Begin
  13. Shogun Kunitoki – Montezuma
  14. Vowels – Two Wires
  15. Tennis – Marathon