Thiago Nassif shares Cornelius remix of ‘Pele de Leopardo’ from latest album Mente

A year on from the release of Thiago Nassif’s widely acclaimed album Mente, the phenomenal multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer has shared a remix of album track ‘Pele de Leopardo’ by maverick musician and producer Cornelius. DJ and broadcaster Nick Luscombe, who triggered this collaboration, commented:

“So for me, it’s been really wonderful to be able to connect two of my all time favourite artists from each country via this brilliant remix! I’m certain there will be more to follow and I am already excited by the potential of a new collaboration between Keigo and Thiago – which already sounds like a perfect Japan/Brazil duo!”

Reflecting about the remix, Thiago said:

“Pele de Leopardo means Leopard Skin, some would say it’s a method of changing your own skin into something else, like wearing a disguise or an overlapping layer. Somehow Cornelius found my music and posted it on his famous Instagram song playlist. This skin that travelled from one continent to another at leopard’s speed got to Japan! His skin got to me way before with “Sensuous” and “Point”-his way of composing music was like sacred geometry to me. Now, in the form of a remix, here is Cornelius’ way of overlapping his skin on mine. It is not a disguise but something that reveals the song even more.”

Listen to the remix below.

In other related news, Gearbox Records is also releasing Thiago’s third album Três as a Japanese Edition CD on June 30th.

Mixtape #111

With immense technical ability and creativity, Alexander Noice is one of the most interesting contemporary musicians out there. Over the last decade, Noice has played a vital role in the LA music scene and abroad, performing, recording and collaborating with a slew of artists and projects, including his own ensembles Falsetto Teeth and NOICE. A phenomenal composer, guitarist, producer and bandleader drawing from an amalgam of genres, from art-rock and jazz to minimalism, opera and electronic music, Noice released an exhilarating and inventive self-titled album last year, which made it to our Album Picks of 2019. So we’re ecstatic to catch a glimpse of his wide range of influences in this month's mixtape!

  1. The Zombies – This Will Be Our Year [Epic]
  2. Thelonius Monk – Brilliant Corners [Riverside]
  3. Deerhoof – Milking [Free Porcupine Society / ATP Recordings]
  4. Minutemen – Viet Nam [SST Records]
  5. Ornette Colenman – Folk Tale [XL Recordings / Interscope Records
  6. Charlie Parker – Kim [Clef Records]
  7. Talking Heads – Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On) [Sire]
  8. Nino Rota – O Venezia, Venaga, Venusia [Cam]
  9. Stuttgart Vocal Ensemble & Rupert Huber – Christian Wolff In Cambridge [Hänssler Classic]
  10. Charles Mingus – Solo Dancer [Impulse!]
  11. M.I.A. – Steppin Up [XL Recordings / Interscope Records]
  12. Michael Nyman Band and Orchestra – The Draughtsman’s Contract [Venture]
  13. Broadcast – America’s Boy [Warp]
  14. Cornelius – New Music Machine [Matador]
  15. Dirty Projectors – Not Having Found [Western Vinyl]
  16. Philip Glass – River Run [Virgin]
  17. Fugazi – Turnover [Dischord]
  18. Iggy Pop – Funtime [RCA]
  19. John Coltrane – Configuration [Impulse!]
  20. David Bowie – What In The World [RCA]
  21. Arthur Russell – Being It [Upside Records / Rough Trade]
  22. Leadbelly – Green Corn [Folkways Records]

Ryuichi Sakamoto shares Cornelius remix of ‘ZURE’ from upcoming album Async Remodels

Ryuichi Sakamoto is ready to unveil a companion to last year’s async, his first solo album in eight years. Entitled Async Remodels, the upcoming record saw Sakamoto enlist the help of several stellar artists including Alva Noto, Oneohtrix Point Never, Fennesz and Jóhann Jóhannsson to rework and reinterpret his original compositions. Following Yves Tumor Obsession Edit of ‘ZURE’, a Cornelius remix of the same track, also featured on Async Remodels, is now streaming. Listen to both versions below.

Async Remodels is out on February 16th via Milan Records.

Cornelius premieres video for new single ‘In A Dream’

cornelius-in_a_dreamTomorrow sees the long-awaited release of Cornelius’s new album Melow Waves, his first in eleven years. Keigo Oyamada, the maverick musician behind Cornelius, had already enticed us with the album’s opener, ‘あなたがいるなら[If You’re Here]’. Now he has let loose a new delightful single, ‘In A Dream’, for another taste of Mellow Waves just before it drops. The track comes with a video directed by Groovisions. Here it is.

Cornelius returns with new album Mellow Waves and shares first single ‘あなたがいるなら[If You’re Here]’

Cornelius - あなたがいるなら If You’re HereMaverick musician Keigo Oyamada, better known as Cornelius, is back with Mellow Waves, his first full-length album in 11 years. The effort comes out in his native Japan on June 28th and July 21st in the rest of the world. The wonderful news comes paired with the album’s opening track, ‘あなたがいるなら[If You’re Here]’, which only heightens our already huge anticipation. Cornelius is offering the track with a befittingly stunning video, directed by Koichiro Tsujikawa. Here it is.

First taste from Philip Glass remix project by Tyondai Braxton

Philip Glass, one of the world’s most celebrated composers, turns 75 this year and to commemorate it, the most impressive group of talented musicians contributed to Rework: Philip Glass Remixed, a collection of Glass’s original compositions that have been reworked and remixed.

According to the press release, the idea first come about after conversations between Glass and Beck, who then “recruited producer Hector Castillo (David Bowie, Björk, Lou Reed) to help assemble a collection of remixes of Glass’ works by a list of critically acclaimed artists.”
Other than Beck, Rework: Philip Glass Remixed features remixes from Tyondai Braxton, Cornelius, Dan Deacon, Amon Tobin, Peter Broderick and more.

The album will be available as a double LP and double CD and is slated for a October 23rd release via Orange Mountain Music / Ernest Jenning Record Co. and The Kora Records. You can pre-order it now.

We have just been graced with the first cut from the forthcoming album, a remix of ‘Rubric’, which comes from the hands of prodigious composer and musician Tyondai Braxton. It is amazing beyond belief and you’ll be hitting play again the second it ends. Here it is.