Dirty Projectors announce new album Lamp Lit Prose

Photo: Jason Frank Rothenberg

A new Dirty Projectors‘ album is always good news. Last year the outfit of Dave Longstreth released an eponymous album, his first record in nearly five years, following 2012’s Swing Lo Magellan. Luckily, we won’t have to wait that long again as Dirty Projectors have just announced the release of their eighth album, Lamp Lit Prose. Produced by Longstreth in his LA studio, the album features longtime collaborators Nat Baldwin and Mike Johnson as well as guest contributions from Syd, Amber Mark, Haim, Dear Nora, Rostam, Empress Of, and Fleet Foxes’ Robin Pecknold.
Lamp Lit Prose “is the yang to the yin of the 2017 effort”, describes the press release. “The songs signal a page turned for Longstreth: hope instead of heartbreak, a restorative balance.”

The news comes paired with the first stellar single, ‘Break-Thru’, and a fittingly jubilant video directed by Sean Pecknold. Watch it below and grab the album when it drops on July 13th via Domino.

In other related good news, Dirty Projectors are also embarking on their first tour in five years with a new touring band. With several live dates in North America and Europe, the tour includes a show in London at Village Underground on August 22nd. Check all their stops and other info on their website.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No HTML but links are fine.