Makaya McCraven’s new album, In These Times, out in September

Photo: David Marques

In the works for a long time, In These Times, the eighth album from celebrated and prolific percussionist, composer and producer Makaya McCraven will see the light of day in September. Envisioned by McCraven since after the release of his 2015 debut record In The Moment, In These Times is a dream of an album come true. Featuring a 11 song suite, the album is described as “a highly personal but broadly communicable fusion of odd-meter original compositions from his working songbook with orchestral, large ensemble arrangements and the edit-heavy “organic beat music””.

McCraven assembled an incredible cast of musicians and creative partners to bring this album to life, including Jeff Parker, Junius Paul, Brandee Younger, Joel Ross, and Marquis Hill.

Following ‘Seventh String’, the Chicago based beat scientist released a second spellbinding single called ‘Dream Another’. The track is offered with an accompanying music visualizer directed and animated by Nik Arthur. Watch it below and listen to the previous single straight after.

In These Times is out on September 23rd through International Anthem / Nonesuch / XL Recordings

Mixtape #134

A new year is upon us and what better way to set the mood than with a mixtape curated by the brilliant and imaginative Matthias Lindermayr. Whether you know his work with German jazz group Fazer, his collaborations with artists like Carlos Cipa, or his own beguiling solo works, Lindermayr is one of Germany’s leading jazz trumpet players. Crossing the borders between composition and improvisation, his magnificent third album Triptych has completely enthralled us and is one of our Album Picks of 2021. Needless to say, we're ecstatic to unveil this stunning mix that perfectly encapsulates the spectrum of influences at play in the album, from jazz to classical to contemporary music. Press play already!

  1. Girls in Airport – Stonehouse [Kaja Records]
  2. Peter Evans & Levy Lorenzo – Axis [More is More Records]
  3. Roberto Oyarzun Susnar – Ligeti Etude VII [Chancacazo]
  4. Christian Wallumrod Ensemble – Danszaal [Hubro]
  5. Bill Frisell [with Dave Holland & Elvin Jones] – Twenty Years [Nonesuch Records]
  6. Arve Henriksen – Acceptance [ArveMusic]
  7. Koma Saxo – Fanfarum for Komarum II [We Jazz Records]
  8. Portico Quartet – Line [Real World]
  9. Tigran Hamasyan – Etude No. 1 [Nonesuch Records]
  10. Mark Hollis – The daily Planet [Polydor Records]
  11. Mathias Eick – Children [ECM]
  12. Makaya McCraven – Inner Flight [International Anthem]
  13. Cuong Vu – Vina’s Lullaby [Knitting Factory]