Why The Eye return with new album, Inspirex, share first single ‘La machine’

We were lucky to come across the tribal, propulsive and hypnotic sounds of Why The Eye in 2017, just after they released their eponymous debut album, and immediately became avid fans. Based in Brussels, the mysteriously masked quartet, who describe their music as “Prehistoric Techno”, play home-made instruments made out of random objects. The good news is they are finally back with a new album. Entitled Inspirex, the record arrives on October 4th through Exag Records and they are giving us a first taste of  what to expect from the album with ‘La Machine’. Of the track, the band says:

“La Machine was composed at rue de la Senne, a legendary spot on the Brussels underground scene. The song was written in a flash, in a single day. The overall shape emerged instantly. The text became clearer during the covid crisis. The song speaks of the confinement generated by our capitalist society. Live, this song sets the audience free! When we recorded the album in the midst of the covid crisis, the song became more vindictive. The crowd noises, it’s the band screaming. Initially, “les boules dans la machine” was a bit abstract. But then it took on a different meaning.”

A daredevil of a single, ‘La Machine’ comes with an accompanying video directed by DjP and Marco Zagaglia and you can watch it below.

Mixtape #93

Based in Brussels, the mysteriously masked quartet that is Why The Eye? craft themselves unconventional instruments out of apparently random objects, then use them to perform their music. And what music! A trance inducing combination of relentless polyrhythmic grooves, frenetic analogue glitches and distorted squeals, the band's eponymous first album which came out last year immediately turned us into avid fans. So in a bid to uncover what inspires this tribal and celebratory feel, we had Why The Eye? summon this month's mixtape and out of thin air, here it is!

  1. The Residents – The moles are coming [Ralph Records]
  2. Erika Sulzmann (1959) – Percussions and vocals from Maï Ndombe Lake (Congo)
  3. Plasticman – Kriket [NovaMute]
  4. Esplendor Geométrico – Es Inaudito [Linea Alternativa / Geometrik]
  5. Francis Bebey – Di Saegi [Born Bad Records]
  6. Aphex Twin – Fz Pseudotimestretch+e+3 [Warp]
  7. Frank Zappa & The Mothers of Invention – Help i’m a Rock [Verve Records]
  8. Badawi – Dance of the Centipedes [Reachout International Records]
  9. Gede Manik – Bereta Yuda [Disjuncta]
  10. Miles Davis – Rated-X [Columbia / CBS]
  11. James Brown – Since You’ve Been Gone [Polydor]
  12. T.K. Ramamoorthy – Rasikapriya [The Gramophone Company Of India Ltd. / EM Records]
  13. The Junkman (Donald Knaack) – Abracadabra
  14. Liquid Liquid – Cavern [99 Records]

Why The Eye? release self titled debut album

We came across the tribal, propulsive and hypnotic sounds of Brussels’ Why The Eye? at the tail end of last year and we’re picking their eponymous album to start 2018 on a high. An unconventional and quirky band known for their musically and visually ecstatic live shows, Why The Eye?’s music brims with mystery and celebration, with its four masked members playing only home-made instruments, like the microdrukit, the lamellophone or the likembe. For a taste of their paleo-futuristic techno, take a listen to ‘Plastique’ and ‘Free Gluten’ now.

Why The Eye?’s self-titled debut album is out now through Angstrom and Plynt on all usual formats and also in the form of a specially brewed ale with a download code, available only at their shows. If you’re near Brussels, don’t miss them at Brass on February 15th.