Ursa Major Moving Group to release eponymous debut album in June

Photo: Wasil Schauseil

Ursa Major Moving Group is the solo project of London based multi-instrumentalist, composer and writer Ursula Russell, who’s been around for a while drumming with the likes of Snapped Ankles, Alabaster Deplume, Yama Warashi, Bas Jan and Clementine March. She has announced the release of her self-titled debut album, arriving on June 9th through Faith & Industry Records. On the new record, Russell plays all instruments herself, showcasing her instrumental virtuosity and unbridled inventiveness in a range of divergent styles. The forthcoming Ursa Major Moving Group is described as “an intense, dynamic and intimate musical journal that shifts between delicate folk, stirring indie rock, flamboyant chamber pop and angular post-punk styles.”

‘Welcome To The Noosphere’ is the first stunning single to emerge from the album. Inspired by José Argüelles’ book Time and the Technosphere, the track “is a modern-day protest song about a ravaged planet, induced by countless hours of listening to Bob Dylan and watching Céline Sciamma’s Portrait of a Lady on Fire”. Listen to it now.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No HTML but links are fine.