Mixtape #42 by Poppy Ackroyd


When we first posted about the imaginative and enchantingly talented British composer and musician Poppy Ackroyd, we never dreamt she would one day get involved with our monthly mixtape. Since then, she released an outstanding debut album, Escapement, where she explores and experiments with the piano and the violin, mirroring her intricate relationship with the two instruments. Also, our dream came true and this month she picked and mixed seventeen stunning tracks, for your ears to indulge on.

  1. Origamibiro – Vitreous Detachment [Expanding Records]
  2. Aphex Twin – Jynweythek ylow [Warp]
  3. DJ Shadow – Organ Donor (Extended Overhaul)[Mo' Wax]
  4. Radiohead – Reckoner
  5. Nils Frahm and Anne Muller – Journey For A Traveller [Erased Tapes / Hush Records]
  6. Origamibiro – Noshi [Expanding Records]
  7. Hauschka – Radar [FatCat Records]
  8. Boards of Canada – Turquoise Hexagon Sun [Warp]
  9. Hidden Orchestra (Joe Acheson) – Strange [Tru Thoughts / Denovali]
  10. Portishead – Glory Box [Go! Discs]
  11. Thomas Stronen – Dispatches [Rune Grammofon]
  12. Piano interrupted – Hobi [Denovali]
  13. Amon Tobin – Four Ton Mantis [Ninja Tune]
  14. Cinematic Orchestra – Channel 1 Suite [Ninja Tune]
  15. Aphex Twin – Girl Boy Song [Warp]
  16. Portico Quartet – Knee-Deep In The North Sea [Real World Records / Vortex Records]
  17. Leos Janacek – In the Mists

One thought on “Mixtape #42

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No HTML but links are fine.