Mixtape #147

A prominent force in the Brazilian jazz scene, Caixa Cubo have been making waves internationally since starting the project back in 2007. Made up of long-time friends Henrique Gomide (keys), João Fideles (drums) and Noa Stroeter (bass), the three forward-thinking musicians, hailing from São Paulo, have been exploring new sonic territories whilst developing their own musical language. With a knack for improvisation, the trio’s compositions boast spontaneity and meticulousness in equal measure. Last Friday Caixa Cubo released their eighth full-length album, Agôra, an intoxicating and beguiling record bursting at the seams with grooves and energy. So we’re stoked they found the time to pick a few favourite artists and tracks for our monthly mixtape, lovingly mixed by Chris Dusty from their label Jazz & Milk.

  1. Wayne Shorter – Ponta de Areia [Columbia]
  2. Gal Costa – Pontos de Luz [Philips]
  3. Cassiano – Rio Best-Seller [Columbia]
  4. Wando – Libertas Que Serás Um Beija-Flor [Som Livre]
  5. Caixa Cubo – Sábado (feat. Zé Leônidas) [Jazz & Milk]
  6. Caixa Cubo – Dreams (feat. Xênia França) [Jazz & Milk]
  7. Gal Costa – Da Maior Importância [Philips]
  8. Emílio Santiago – Trocando Em Miúdos [Philips]
  9. João Donato – Debutante’s Ball [Blue Thumb Records]
  10. Grupo Um – Onze Por Oito [Far Out Recordings]
  11. Dom Salvador E Abolição – Guanabara [CBS]
  12. Airto Moreira – Romance Of Death [Epic Associated / Legacy]
  13. Trio Mocotó – Xuxu Melão [Arlequim]
  14. Caixa Cubo – Palavras [Heavenly Recordings]
  15. Caixa Cubo – Baião Malandro [Heavenly Recordings]

Caixa Cubo tease upcoming album, Agôra, with new single ‘Dreams’

Following the exhilarating ‘Sábado‘, Brazilian trio Caixa Cubo are enticing us again with new single ‘Dreams’. The track, which is lifted from their much anticipated new record, Agôra, sees them venturing for the first time into R’n’B territory. Sung in both English and Portuguese, ‘Dreams’ features guest singers Xênia França and Zé Leônidas, and you can check the accompanying video below.

Agôra is out on March 31st through Jazz & Milk

Listen to Caixa Cubo’s first single off forthcoming album Agôra

A mainstay in the Brazilian jazz scene for over 15 years, Caixa Cubo have a new album on the way. Entitled Agôra, which means now, it marks their eighth full-length album and arrives on March 31st through Jazz & Milk. To bring Agôra to life, the trio of Henrique Gomide (keys), João Fideles (drums) and Noa Stroeter (bass) enlisted the help of singers Xenia França and Zé Leônidas, Jembaa Groove’s singer Eric Owusu and South African duo Bongani Givethanks & Mpho Nkuzo. As the press release describes,  Agôra “shines not for its virtuosity rather for its minimalism, it’s depth of space, and for the first time, it’s ability to figure outside the jazz fold, as the trio from São Paulo decided, for the first time, to bring in singers and add a new aesthetic to their sound.”

‘Sábado’, a homage song to the busy city of São Paulo where Caixa Cubo met, is the first exhilarating single to emerge from the album. The trio comments:

“Sabado reflects well the spontaneity that permeated the entire recording of the album. When we got to the studio, we had no idea what we were going to record. We started playing a groove, kind of inspired by Gilberto Gil’s 80s albums, and our drummer João started singing this funny song ‘Sábado Barrigudão’ (Big Belly Saturday) alongside the bass groove and that was that”.

Listen to ‘Sábado’ below.