Mixtape #133

We fell under the spell of Tara Clerkin Trio and their experimental and hypnotic compositions drawing from a wealth of genres, from jazz, folk and dub to trip hop and downtempo electronica. The band's recently released In Spring EP is one of the most thrilling surprises of this year, so we’re over the moon to have Tara Clerkin and brothers Sunny-Joe Paradiso and Patrick Benjamin orchestrate this month’s wondrous mixtape with a very special selection of tracks. Aptly titled In In Spring, here's how the band went about making their selection:

"Each of us picked a song for each track from our new e.p In Spring that directly influenced us or we borrowed from in some way."

  1. Sun Ra – Trying To Put The Blame On Me (Live in Rome, 1977) [Strut]
  2. Chick Corea – Noon Song [ECM Records]
  3. Jabir – Bismillah [EGK / Linea Alternativa]
  4. Cibo Matto – Sugar Water [Warner Bros. Records]
  5. Gorillaz – Tomorrow Comes Today [Parlophone]
  6. The Durutti Column – Fidelity [Les Disques Du Crépuscule]
  7. Vincent Gallo – I Wrote This Song For The Girl Paris Hilton [Warp]
  8. Dirty Beaches – Floating Underwater Watching Waves
  9. Kenny Graham and His Satellites – Sunday [MGM Records / Trunk Records]
  10. Laurel Halo – Raw Silk Uncut Wood [Latency]
  11. Orbital – Belfast [FFRR]
  12. Holger Czukay – Fragrance [Grönland Records]

Mixtape #57

Dirty Glow, a fun-filled album incorporating everything from R&B, Funk and Jazz to Hip-Hop and Electronica with ease and playfulness, put Naytronix on our Album Picks of 2012. So we're ecstatic to have Nate Brenner, the brilliant multi-instrumentalist and producer behind Naytronix, assemble this month's mixtape for us. We were expecting a wild ride given his abounding creativity and influences, yet he went beyond our expectations. Give it a spin!