Mixtape #133

We fell under the spell of Tara Clerkin Trio and their experimental and hypnotic compositions drawing from a wealth of genres, from jazz, folk and dub to trip hop and downtempo electronica. The band's recently released In Spring EP is one of the most thrilling surprises of this year, so we’re over the moon to have Tara Clerkin and brothers Sunny-Joe Paradiso and Patrick Benjamin orchestrate this month’s wondrous mixtape with a very special selection of tracks. Aptly titled In In Spring, here's how the band went about making their selection:

"Each of us picked a song for each track from our new e.p In Spring that directly influenced us or we borrowed from in some way."

  1. Sun Ra – Trying To Put The Blame On Me (Live in Rome, 1977) [Strut]
  2. Chick Corea – Noon Song [ECM Records]
  3. Jabir – Bismillah [EGK / Linea Alternativa]
  4. Cibo Matto – Sugar Water [Warner Bros. Records]
  5. Gorillaz – Tomorrow Comes Today [Parlophone]
  6. The Durutti Column – Fidelity [Les Disques Du Crépuscule]
  7. Vincent Gallo – I Wrote This Song For The Girl Paris Hilton [Warp]
  8. Dirty Beaches – Floating Underwater Watching Waves
  9. Kenny Graham and His Satellites – Sunday [MGM Records / Trunk Records]
  10. Laurel Halo – Raw Silk Uncut Wood [Latency]
  11. Orbital – Belfast [FFRR]
  12. Holger Czukay – Fragrance [Grönland Records]

Mixtape #124

Quest Ensemble conquered our ears with their mesmerising and cinematic sound, pushing the boundaries of contemporary classical music by blending in elements of jazz and trad using improvisational techniques. Made up of Filipe Sousa (piano), Tara Franks (cello) and Preetha Narayanan (violin), the three Guildhall School of Music graduates have been performing and composing together for over 10 years. Participating in a slew of projects, from music education to commissions for dance and the visual arts, Quest Ensemble have also released two magnificent albums, 2014’s Footfall and last year’s The Other Side. So we're thrilled to start March with a stunning mix of tracks picked by the band, opening a window onto their musical world.

  1. Portico Quartet – Window Seat 00:00 [Real World Records / Society of Sound Music]
  2. Steve Reich, Daniel Hope, Simos Papanas, Kammerorchester Basel – Duet [Deutsche Grammophon] 03:14
  3. Punch Brothers – Passepied (Debussy) [Nonesuch] 07:59
  4. David Lang, Hilary Hahn, Cory Smythe 11.27
  5. Chris Gall, Bernhard Schimplesberger – New Life [GLM Music] 14:17
  6. Firefly Burning – Pioneer [Firefly Burning Records] 17:18
  7. Chick Corea, Bobby McFerrin – Even For Me (Live) [GRP] 22.19
  8. Nik Bärtsch – Modul 4 25:26
  9. Fofoulah – Fighting Chance [Glitterbeat] 30.34
  10. Donnacha Dennehy, Nadia Sirota, Liam Byrne – Tessellatum – Part 1 [Bedroom Community] 32:20
  11. Fred Thomas – Fall, Leaves, Fall 35:01
  12. Tigran Hamasyan – Lilac [Nonesuch] 41.07
  13. Caroline Shaw – Limestone & Felt [Nonesuch / New Amsterdam Records] 45:10
  14. A Winged Victory fot the Sullen – Atomos VIII [Erased Tapes] 51:19
  15. Eric Whitacre, Eric Whitacre Singers – Sleep [Decca] 56:07
  16. Tsegue-Maryam Guebrou – Mother’s Love [Buda Musique] 61:36

Mixtape #80

One of the most refreshing and thrilling things in music for the past decade has to be Brandt Brauer Frick. The acoustic dance trio from Berlin craft a sound that is as original as it is unclassifiable, combining traditional jazz instrumentation with electronica, and drawing influences from disparate musical worlds. Their last album, Joy, made it swiftly to our 15 Album Picks of 2016, so we're over the moon to present the intoxicating mix they put together for us this month, featuring tracks old and new from all around the globe. Press play and dance!