Watch Congotronics International’s live video for title track ‘Where’s The One?’

Photo: Ed Rodrigez

Congotronics International announced last month the release of a new collaborative album called Where’s The One?, featuring 21 concert recordings and studio tracks. The mighty supergroup comprising members of Konono Nº1, Kasai Allstars, Deerhoof, Juana Molina, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, and Skeletons’ Matthew Mehlan, had previously whetted our appetite with two thrilling singles, ‘Banza Banza’ and ‘Beyond The 7th Bend’. Ahead of the album’s release on April 29th through Crammed Discs, they give us today a new taste from the album with the title track, an exhilarating song featuring vocals in Songye language by Kasai Allstars and in English by Matt Mehlan [Skeletons], and also additional vocals by Molina, Deerhoof’s Satomi Matsuzaki and Wildbirds & Peacedrums’ Mariam Wallentin. The single is offered with a fittingly thrilling live video filmed at Roskilde Festival in 2011. Check it out below.

In other related news, Kasai Allstars will perform a one-off collaborative live show with Hot Chip titled ‘Hot Congotronics’ as part of this year’s Grace Jones-curated Meltdown Festival at London’s Southbank Centre on June 14th.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No HTML but links are fine.