Animal Collective unleash new video for first single off upcoming album

Centipede Hz, Animal Collective‘s tenth full-length album, is due out early next month and in anticipation, they have just premiered a video for the first single ‘Today’s Supernatural’. The track was unveiled last week on their new weekly radio show, Animal Collective Radio, and now it gets complimented with a trippy colourful video.

This is the first time since 2007’s Strawberry Jam that Animal Collective regroup as a four piece with original members Avey Tare, Panda Bear, Geologist and Deakin back in the band.

It’s not surprising that Animal Collective started their own radio show,  as “part of the inspiration for Centipede Hz included the band’s memories of growing up listening to station announcements and commercials on the radio and imagining the after life of radio signals from the past, forgotten transmissions that are now lost in space and broadcasting music from other planets for other life forms”, as the press released described. “This is reflected in the sound of Centipede Hz, which features the white noise of radio interference and buried frequencies overlaid with the band’s peerless melodic sensibilities and compositional methods.”

Centipede Hz will it stores on September 3rd in the UK and a day later in the US via Domino. Ahead of it, Animal Collective will stream the album in its entirety on their radio show this Sunday August 19th.

Now enjoy the video for ‘Today’s Supernatural’. Danny Perez directs.

Mixtape #27

  1. Elfin Saddle – The Changing Wind [Constellation Records]
  2. Gulp – Diamonds In The Sky [E.L.K.]
  3. CocoRosie – Tearz For Animals (Feat. Antony Hegarty) [Touch And Go]
  4. Primus – Lee Van Cleef [ATO Records / Prawn Song]
  5. Esmerine – Front End Loader [Constellation Records]
  6. Dan Deacon – Lots [Domino]
  7. Animal Collective – Honeycomb [Domino]
  8. Micachu & The Shapes – OK [Rough Trade]
  9. Family Fodder – The Onliest Thing [The state51 Conspiracy]
  10. The Dead Science – Death Duel Productions [Constellation Records]
  11. Friends – Mind Control [Lucky Number / Fat Possum]
  12. Siskiyou – Twigs And Stones [Constellation Records]
  13. Taraf De Haidouks – Tot Taraful [Crammed]
  14. Julia Holter – With Loue To Toune [Sixteen Tambourines Records]
  15. Van Dyke Parks – The All Golden [Rhino]