Dusted premiere video for debut album’s closing track

Earlier this month, Dusted premiered a video to accompany  ‘(Into the) Atmosphere’, the first dreamy single lifted from their recently released debut album Total Dust.

Now the duo of Holy Fuck’s Brian Borcherdt and Final Fantasy’s Leon Taheny are offering a new video for ‘There Somehow’, the album’s short and dark closing track.

Here’s what director Scott Cudmore said about the video:

“Brian sent me the Dusted record last year and I immediately fell in love with it. It stayed in my car for almost the entire year. Something about the sounds and textures on that record, I guess they made me think that they could complement images and sounds of my own. The subject matter of ‘There Somehow’ and the short length of it really made sense with this material. It’s a different kind of project – it’s not a music video for a ‘single’ but more of a little film collaboration between two existing works.”

Watch the video now.

Dusted add visuals to lead single ‘(Into the) Atmosphere’

‘(Into the) Atmosphere’, the first dreamy single lifted from Dusted‘s debut album Total Dust,  has just received visual treatment.
Here’s what Brian Borcherdt said about the video:

“Here’s a video of us playing on a rooftop next to our favorite tequila bar, on a hot Toronto evening. I think this accurately demonstrates my C+ ability at lip syncing and my A+ ability at making sunglasses suddenly disappear and reappear on my face.”

The video was directed by Aaron Kopff and Paul Gerretsen and you can watch it below.
Total Dust is out now via Hand Drawn Dracula and Polyvinyl.

Dusted drop brand new track from forthcoming debut album

Brian Borcherdt, co-founding member of Holy Fuck, has a new band called Dusted, featuring producer Leon Taheny of Final Fantasy fame, as reported here last month.

Their debut album Total Dust is due out on July 10th via Hand Drawn Dracula and Polyvinyl.

Following Dusted’s first single ‘(Into the) Atmosphere’, the twosome have just dropped a brand new cut, ‘Property Lines’, off their forthcoming album.
‘Property Lines’ features Brian’s three other Holy Fuck bandmates Graham Walsh, Matt McQuaid and Brad KilPatrick. Here it is.

Mixtape #26

  1. Jherek Bischoff – Young & Lovely (feat. Zac Pennington & SoKo) [The Leaf Label / Brassland]
  2. ROM -Whale Vomit [Pingipung]
  3. Torkelsen – Ugle [SellOut! Music]
  4. Liars – No. 1 Against The Rush [Mute]
  5. St. Vincent – Krokodil [4AD]
  6. Zs – Balk [Planoria]
  7. Arc In Round – Hallowed [La Société Expéditionnaire]
  8. James Ferraro – Linden Dollars [Hippos In Tanks]
  9. Haruomi Hosono – Gaplus [Scitron Digital Content]
  10. Can – Millionenspiel [Mute]
  11. Get Well Soon – You Cannot Cast Out The Demons (You Might As Well Dance) [City Slang]
  12. Zammuto – Too Late To Apologize [Temporary Residence]
  13. Gosprom – San Francisco [Headphonica]
  14. Dusted – (Into The) Atmosphere [Hand Drawn Dracula / Polyvinyl]
  15. Bruce Peninsula – 2nd 4th World War [Bruce Trail Records]

Brian Borcherdt’s new side project Dusted with debut album on the way

Toronto-by-way-of-Yarmouth, Nova Scotia singer songwriter  Brian Borcherdt, co-founder of electronic outfit Holy Fuck, teamed up with producer Leon Taheny (Final Fantasy, Rituals, Bruce Pensinsula) for a new project called Dusted.
Their debut album, Total Dust, will hit stores on July 10th via Hand Drawn Dracula and Polyvinyl. You can pre-order it from both labels.

According to the press release, the forthcoming album “resides in an atmosphere that is sometimes melodic, sometimes haunting, and always clouded by a fuzzy glow. With string arrangements and half-hidden guitar feedback held together by the occasional tambourine and minimal drum machine, the stripped down mood perfectly complements a collection of songs that are more than capable of standing on their own merits.”

The first single off Total Dust, ‘(Into the) Atmosphere’ emerged yesterday. Listen to it below and also check out the teaser clips.